Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kansas Heritage: Stanton County

Aimed at preserving the heritage of central and western Kansas

Stanton County Map 1899

Stanton County map

Prentis, Noble Lovely. "History of Kansas". Winfield, KS: E. P. Greer, 1899

Homesteading in Stanton County

Stanton County was organized in 1887 and is named for Edwin Stanton, who served as Abraham Lincoln’s Secretary of War. Johnson City is the permanent county seat. This county is located in the far southwest corner of Kansas and shares a border with Colorado, as well as the neighboring counties of Hamilton, Grant, and Morton.


"Stanton County, Kansas." Kansapedia. Kansas Historical Society, 2012. Web. 24 Apr. 2012.

Paragraph written by intern Holly Younger in 2012.