Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 125: World Literature & the Human Experience (Ms. Marconette): Web Sites

A course guide for students taking ENG 125 w/ Ms. Marconette, this guide includes research tips and resources including search databases, journals, e-books, literary webpages, and citation guides.

Web Sites

Activities for ESL Students
Online quizzes, puzzles, etc.

American Writers
American authors’ influences on life, literature, and the U.S.

Anthology of Middle English Literature (1350-1485)
Study materials on Middle English literature

Anti-Plagiarism Strategies for Research Papers
The prevention, awareness, and detection of plagiarism

APA: American Psychological Association
APA Style

American Authors
Images, works, etc.

Ask Grammar
Grammar guides and questions

Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation, The
Rules for grammar and punctuation

Bulfinch’s Mythology: The Age of Fable or Stories of Gods and Heroes
An electronic version of this classic work

Citing Sources
APA, Chicago Style, MLA, and Turabian

Common Errors in English
Words that are frequently used incorrectly

Critical Thinking Web
Free online resources on critical thinking

Cyberplagiarism Detection and Prevention
Detection and prevention of plagiarism

Discovery Education
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators, Science Fair Central, etc.

Duke University Libraries: Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper
Citing sources by using MLA, APA, etc.

Encyclopedia Mythica
Folklore, mythology, and legends

English Club. Com
Information for teachers, students, and schools

English Department Home Pages Worldwide
A list of websites provided by New York University

English Page.com
An ESL site for both students and teachers

English-Zone.Com
Ressources regarding English

FreeBooknotes.com
Free book summaries

Free English Teaching and Learning Resources
English-language learners as well as teachers of ESL

Genres of Writing
Links for writing in various subjects and fields

Geoffrey Chaucer
Harvard’s Chaucer site

Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples, A
Definitions and examples for rhetorical devices and literary terms

Greek Mythology Link
Myths as well as topics, people, places, etc.

Guide to Grammar and Style
Comments on style as well as grammatical rules

Guide to Grammar and Writing
Grammar and advice on English usage

Guide to Plagiarism and Cyber-Plagiarism
Resources for faculty and students

Guide for Writing Research Papers, A
A guide for APA Style documentation

History of the English Language
Prehistory, Old English, Middle English, etc.

Hypertexts: We Do American Studies
Full text works by notable authors and scholars

Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism, The
Critical and biographical websites about authors and their works

Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
Postmodernism, Feminism, Marxism, etc.

LanternFish
Worksheets and flashcards for the ESL and TEFL teacher

Library of Southern Literature
Literary texts from the South

Literary Gothic, The
Gothic literature

Literature Webliography
General guides, periodicals, discussions, etc.

Literary Resources on the Net
Links for American and English Literature

Literary Resources—Theory
Links to sites on literary theory

Litline.com
Literary criticism

Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Literature from the Medieval, Renaissance, 17th century, and Restoration periods

MLA: Modern Language Association
MLA style

Many Things.org
Grammar fun, word games, puzzles, etc. for ESL students

Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Dictionary, Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, etc.

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
Resources for Shakespeare

New Chaucer Society, The
Materials on Chaucer and late Medieval literature

Nuts and Bolts of College Writing, The
Style, structure, mechanics, etc.

On-Line Books Page, The
Books, collections, and serials that are accessible over the Internet for literature

Online Medieval & Classical Library, The
Sites for Medieval and Classical literary works

Owens Library Web Pages
Examples for APA and MLA writing style

PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
Authors, primary works, bibliographies, etc.

Perseus Digital Library
The Classics, Renaissance materials, etc.

Plagiarism
Resources for faculty and students, articles of interest, case studies, etc.

Poetry
Selected works of poetry from Poetry Magazine

Poetry Portal
Numerous poetry sites

Poets.org
Poems as well as poets

Project Gutenberg
Free electronic books

Publishers’ Catalogues
Books on publishing and writing, publishers’ websites, etc.

Representative Poetry Online
Poems, criticisms, and timelines

Research and Documentation Online
Resources for researching, writing, and citing materials

Resources for Writers and Writing Instructors
General resources, grammar, literary terms, etc.

Rhyme Zone
Find synonyms, antonyms, rhyming words, etc.

Romantic Chronology
Documents from the 17th through the 19th century

Romantic Circles
Romantic literature and culture

Style Manuals and Citation Guide
Information for citing sources by an academic discipline or general topic

Shakespeare Resource Center
Play synopses, Elizabethan England, Shakespeare’s works, etc.

Sparknotes
Online study guides, study charts, standardized tests, etc.

Teams Middle English Texts
Electronic Middle English literature

Twentieth-Century Poetry in English
Twentieth Century English Poetry

Victorian Women Writers Project
Transcriptions of works by nineteenth-century British women writers

Web English Teacher
Online teaching resources

Web Poetry Corner, The
Poetry around the world

Willa Cather Archive, The
Biographies, letters, writings, etc.

Women Writers Project
Early women’s writing

Writer’s Style Guide
Capitalization, abbreviations, a punctuation primer, etc.

Writing Tutorial Services
Pamphlets on plagiarism, outlines, resumes, etc

List created by Judy Salm [08/25/06, updated 11/23/09)

Disclaimer