Skip to Main Content

ENG 125: World Literature & the Human Experience (Ms. Marconette): Finding Articles

A course guide for students taking ENG 125 w/ Ms. Marconette, this guide includes research tips and resources including search databases, journals, e-books, literary webpages, and citation guides.

Best Resources for Researching Both Sides of an Issue

Brief video tutorial showing how to use CQ Researcher and Issues & Controversies databases.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reporting on current controversial issues, with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
More than 900 timely, in-depth articles on current issues. Features include pro/con statements, timelines, news updates, editorial cartoons, statistics, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including Federal and State legal cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, full-text of U.S. & World newspapers, business articles, financials, and company/industry information & profiles. Try out the new intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Nexis Uni is the new site for the resource formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.

All-Purpose Databases

Video Tutorial for Academic Search Premier and other EbscoHost Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Omnifile Full Text This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Collection‎ This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window

Global Issues in Context

Google Scholar

Search for Articles, Books, and more with Primo!

The default search is Everything. Select one of the following options to focus your search:

Articles: Journal, magazine and newspaper articles from our subscription databases and open access sources.

Digital Archives: FHSU theses, Reveille yearbooks, Sternberg Museum collections, historical photos and more.

Books & More: books & e-books, print & e-journals, DVDs, CDs, government documents, & more.

Sign in with your TigerTracks to save items to your favorites.

Best Databases for Literary Criticism

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Omnifile Full Text This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window

Literature Criticism Online Tutorials on YouTube