Research Guides: Times Talk Topics: Water Footprint

Books & E-Books

Water Supply by ed. by Richard J. Stein
Call Number: General Collection: TD355 .W42 2008
Sample of chapter titles: Water scarcity : the food factor /Not a drop to drink /Where's the water? /Water woes /Ask Natural Life : bottled water or tap water? /Water wars.The rise of big water /Water for profit /The new water wars /Water war /Sharing the river out of Eden /Polluted waters.Sold down the river /Troubled waters /A prayer for the Ganges /Breathless in Brooklyn /Water /Climate change and the water supply.A European Sahara?
Water: Opposing Viewpoints by ed. by J. Langwith
Call Number: Reference: TD348 .W377 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Debates the many controversies about water usage.
Ogallala Blue: Water and Life on the High Plains by William Ashworth
Call Number: General Collection: S616 .U6 A78 2006
"Hidden below the eight states that compose the Great Plains lies a vast ocean known as the Ogallala Aquifer. Supporting 14 million acres of crops that represent one-fifth of the country's total agricultural harvest, this primary source of groundwater affects everything from the food we eat to the clothing we wear. Deep enough to fill Lake Erie nine times over, it is immense, but it is not infinite, and this precious aquifer is going dry. It is a question of when, not if, and the management of this essential resource will be one of the most daunting challenges of the twenty-first century. Tracing the dramatic history of the aquifer from its Ice Age formation to its current precarious state, Ashworth presents a state-by-state montage of the people who have both championed its preservation and orchestrated its destruction." ~Carol Haggas, Booklist
The Atlas of Water: Mapping the World's Most Critical Resource by Black & King
Call Number: Reference: G1046 .C3 C5 2009
Publication Date: 2009
"a compelling visual guide to the state of this life-sustaining resource. Using vivid graphics, maps, and charts, it explores the complex human interaction with water over time and across the world. This vibrant atlas addresses all the pressing issues concerning water, from human impacts like dams and construction to water shortages and excessive demand, pollution, privatization, and water management. It also outlines critical tools for managing water, providing safe access to water, and preserving the future of the world's water supply. " ~ publisher
The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources by Fierro & Nyer
Call Number: Reference: TC403 .W38 2007
"Contains more than 1100 tables and 500 figures providing data related to weather, surface water, ground water, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution, and water resource management. "

Articles

Water Shortage: A 2010 in-depth report from CQ Researcher database.

Tap Water Quality: A 2010 report from the Facts On File/Issues & Controversies database.

By the Numbers: Tap Water Quality. Statistics from the above report.

Water Privatization: A 2002 report from the Facts On File/Issues & Controversies database.

McInnis, D. (2011). Water here, water there, and less and less to drink: Addressing water scarcity and water quality. Cornell Enterprise Online.

Recommended by presenter Kristin Tardif:

Posts to the NY Times' "Green" blog:

Azadeh Ensha. (2009, March 24). Tracking the Water Footprint[blog post].

James Kanter. (2009, April 14). From Carbon Footprints to Water Footprints [blog post].

Post to the NY Times' "City Room" blog:

Ted Botha. (2011, August 1). Complaint Box: Water Wasters [blog post].

Web Sites

WaterFootprint.org: "The water footprint of an individual, community or business is defined as the total volume of freshwater that is used to produce the goods and services consumed by the individual or community or produced by the business." This site provides a wealth of information on this concept, and how to calculate your own "water footprint".

Calculate Your Carbon Footprint

The Nature Conservancy Rivers and Lakes Initiative

Nature Conservancy Carbon Footprint Calculator

Human Impact on the Environment Video from YouTube

The World Water Forum