Holocaust & Genocide Studies: Primary Sources

Created by the Armenian National Institute, a non-profit dedicated to raising awareness and promoting the study of the Armenian Genocide, this site includes photo and document collections, press clippings, and educational materials.

Yad Vashem - The World Center for Holocaust Research contains an extensive digital archive, multimedia narratives, and materials for educators.

The USHMM website contains information, educational tools, and reference materials pertaining to the Holocaust, non-Jewish victims of the Nazi regime, and the prosecution of war criminals. The site also contains information about cases of genocide in Cambodia, South Sudan, the Central African Republic, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and elsewhere.

"The Simon Wiesenthal Center is a global human rights organization researching the Holocaust and hate in a historic and contemporary context. The Center confronts anti-Semitism, hate and terrorism, promotes human rights and dignity, stands with Israel, defends the safety of Jews worldwide, and teaches the lessons of the Holocaust for future generations. With a constituency of over 400,000 households in the United States, it is accredited as an NGO at international organizations including the United Nations, UNESCO, OSCE, Organization of American States (OAS), the Latin American Parliament (PARLATINO) and the Council of Europe. "

"The International Tracing Service The International Tracing Service (ITS) in Bad Arolsen is a centre for documentation, information and research on Nazi persecution, forced labour and the Holocaust. The ITS archives document the fate of millions of victims whose names and memory are to be preserved."

The website for the University of Southern California's Shoah Foundation contains an extensive collection of audio/visual and transcribed testimonials from victims, collaborators, and perpetrators of the Holocaust as well as archival collections related to the Rwandan, Nanjing, Armenian, and Cambodian genocides.

Created by Calvin College's Randall Bytwerk, the German Propaganda Archive includes "both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists."

The archive is notable for its collection of materials published and disseminated by Julius Streicher's anti-Semeitic newspaper, Der Sturmer.

An extension of Yale University's Genocide Studies Program, this site links to databases, maps, news items, publications and other resources related to the Cambodian Genocide.

Funded by the Aegis Trust, the Genocide Archive of Rwanda contains extensive collections of documents, testimonials, and photos dedicated to the 1994 Rwandan Genocide.

A non-governmental organization focused on promoting and protecting human rights, Amnesty International's website contains current reporting on human rights violations throughout the world.

A non-governmental organization, HRW has played an extensive role in documenting genocides and petitioning states to act since the mid-1980s.

The ICRC webpage offers information about international humanitarian law and the role of the International Red Cross in protecting the victims of international and internal armed conflicts, including the victims of genocide.

A non-profit affiliated with the William Mitchell College of Law, World Without Genocide "works to protect innocent people around the world; prevent genocide by combating racism and prejudice; advocate for the prosecution of perpetrators; and remember those whose lives and cultures have been destroyed by violence." Their site contains legal and philosophical tracts on genocide as a concept and information on historic and ongoing instances of genocide.

A joint initiative of the Simon-Skjodt Center for the Prevention of Genocide of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, and the Dickey Center for International Understanding at Dartmouth College, the Early Warning Project produces risk assessments of the potential for mass atrocities around the world by combining state-of-the-art quantitative and qualitative analysis. The project aims to give governments, advocacy groups, and at-risk societies earlier and more reliable warning, and thus more opportunity to take action, before such killings occur.

- "Mass atrocities are rare yet devastating crimes. They are also preventable. Studies of past atrocities show that we can detect early warning signs of atrocities and that if policy makers act on those warnings and develop preventive strategies, we can save lives.

The Early Warning Project uses a wide range of data to identify countries at risk of new mass atrocities. Our model focuses solely on cases of state-led violence, meaning a government acting against its own people. Our rankings are not designed to pinpoint threats from one country against another.

The goal of this project is to help change that. While our system highlights and analyzes those cases where mass atrocities are currently ongoing in Syria, Sudan, South Sudan, North Korea, Central African Republic, Libya, Nigeria, and Congo, the important gap we seek to fill is to shine a light and spark discussion on those cases where mass atrocities have not started but where risks are detected. We seek to do so by building, running and constantly improving on a first-of-its-kind public early warning system for mass atrocities. This project aims to provide governments, advocacy groups, and at-risk societies with earlier and more reliable warning, and thus more opportunity to take action well before killings occur."

Documents are listed alphabetically and include: The United Nations' "Convention of the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide," UN Security Resolutions concerning Kosovo, and the documentary record (including transcripts) of the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg.

A collection of selected primary documents assembled by the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University.

"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."