Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Resources
State Department, Office of the Historian: Foreign Relations of the United States - Harry S. Truman Administration (1945-1952)
*Each FRUS volume contains keyword searches and filter options.
**A digital facsimile of FRUS is from 1861-1960 is also available here. A project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries, this is a nearly complete run with missing volumes added as they are acquired and processed.
FRUS: Diplomatic Papers - Conferences at Malta and Yalta, War Criminals
FRUS: Diplomatic Papers - European Advisory Commission, Austria, Germany
FRUS: Diplomatic Papers - European Advisory Commission, Austria, Germany, Discussions Regarding Procedures and Scope of the United Nations Commission for the Investigation of War Crimes and the Setting Up of the International Military Tribunal
FRUS: Diplomatic Papers - European Advisory Commission, Austria, Germany, Negotiations Leading to the Surrender of Germany; Termination of Hostilities in Europe
FRUS: Diplomatic Papers - Palestine, Attitudes of the United States toward the Arab-Zionist controversy concerning the future status of Palestine
Report of Robert H. Jackson, United States Representative to the International Conference on Military Trials
Courtesy of the Library of Congress, this searchable pdf is a documentary record of negotiations between the United States, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Provisional Government of the French Republic, and Soviet Union at the 1945 London Conference.
The Avalon Project: Trial transcripts, documentary record, and related documents of the International Military Tribunal for Germany
A full-text resource covering the 1945-1946 Trial of the Major War Criminals at Nuremberg, including full trial transcripts, rules of procedure, and international laws and treaties supporting the creation of the London Charter.
The War Crimes Trials at Nuremberg Research File
Courtesy of the Harry S. Truman Library, these pages are the result of a collaborative partnership among the Truman Library & Museum, the Arthur W. Diamond Law Library at Columbia University Law School and the Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives at Hebrew Union College. The collection contains selected documents from the Nuremberg War Crimes holdings of these three institutions.
This collection includes 335 documents totaling 4146 pages covering the years 1943 through 1961. Supporting materials include photographs, oral history transcripts, additional finding aids and a chronology of events spanning the years from 1941 through 1948.
USC Shoah Foundation: Full-Length Testimonies
A massive collection of searchable video testimonies of survivors, liberators, bystanders, and more. *registration required for full access (free)
Electronic Journals & Newspapers
Digitized Jewish Historical Newspapers
Provides full text access and abstracts from the 19th century to the present.
Historical Jewish Press
Provides full-text access to digitized Jewish newspapers in various countries, languages, and time periods. Includes issues of the Palestine Post published between 1932 and 1950. Accessible to researchers outside the Museum.
JTA Jewish News Archive
Provides free access to Jewish Telegraphic Agency news articles from 1923 to the present. Includes both a full-text search option as well as browse by date or topic. Accessible to researchers outside the Museum.
Library of Congress: Chronicling America
A searchable database of digitized American newspapers through 1963.
New York Times
Students, faculty and staff now have access to the full content of the NYT.com and NYT mobile apps. Activate your free NYT Edupass and create an account by clicking on the above link. You must use your FHSU e-mail address to create an account. Once users have established an account, they may access the NY Times' archives through two methods:
The Article Archive (https://www.nytimes.com/search/) contains New York Times articles available either in full-text or partial articles dating back to 1851. This excludes display or classified advertising from the newspaper.
The TimesMachine (https://timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser) TimesMachine is a browser-based digital replica of every edition of The New York Times published between 1851 and 2002. TimesMachine works like an online map; you can choose an article, then click, drag and zoom the paper to focus on interesting areas.
Resources w/ Limited Full-Text Access
USHMM History Unfolded: US Newspapers and the Holocaust
The USHMM has created an ongoing crowd-sourced archive containing American newspaper coverage of and reaction to key events and policies related to the Hitlerite Regime's persecution of European Jews as well as important antecedents.
Each event page contains a synopsis, creator-supplied keywords, suggested bibliography. Indexed and full-text items are located under each event page's "VIEW ALL RESEARCH ON THIS EVENT" tab.
The Truman Directive: Immigration and the U.S. Response to the Displaced Persons Crisis.
Joint Distribution Committee - Text Collection
A searchable database designed for historians, educators and others looking for primary source materials. It includes 3 million digitized pages from the JDC text collections spanning 1914-1977.
NYPL: American Jewish Committee Oral History Collection
"The New York Public Library's Dorot Jewish Division's American Jewish Committee Oral History Collection is the outcome of the "grandparent" of Jewish oral history projects. The Division holds the only complete compilation of transcripts and recordings from this 25-year project that began in the 1960s. The collection contains interviews with 2,250 individuals -- comprising approximately 100,000 pages of transcripts and 6,000 hours of audiotapes. The American Jewish Committee interviewed individuals from all walks of life, thereby compiling a collection of oral histories documenting the Jewish experience in America. Out of this comprehensive collection of interviews, 350 of the transcripts have now been scanned and digitized."
International Workers Order (IWO) and Jewish People's Fraternal Order (JPFO)
This project conserves, digitizes, and curates a portion of Cornell's IWO archives, especially those of its Jewish division, the JPFO. Digitized by Cornell University Library with the help of Cornell’s Jewish Studies Program, this collection addresses issues ranging from the transformations of Jewish identity in the middle of the twentieth century under the pressures of immigration, revolutionism, and World War II, to the history of splits and reconfigurations in United States radical politics during the first half of the twentieth century, the relation between class and ethnicity, and the participation of folk musicians and other artists in radical politics.
Adenauer's Germany and the Nazi Past by
Publication Date: 2002-08-27
Allen Dulles, the OSS, and Nazi War Criminals by
Publication Date: 2016-06-06
The Anatomy of the Nuremberg Trials by
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Germany 1947-1949 by
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Kesselring's Last Battle by
Publication Date: 2009-03-24
The Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, 1945-46 by
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
The Splendid Blond Beast by
Publication Date: 2002-07-01