Research Guides: IDS 350: Diversity in the United States, (English): Databases and Online Sources

Database Best Bets

Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, from 1959-present. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in our global community with 150 full-text journals from between 1980 and today.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The premier magazine for African-American culture since 1945, the Ebony Magazine Archive covers more than 800 issues (1945-2014) and provides cover-to-cover fully searchable text and images, providing a perspective on African-American issues, history and more.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses. This collection is made up of over two million articles from 100 subject-appropriate periodicals, which are predominantly full-text and updated daily. Use Pop Culture Collection to quickly find articles from such titles as Advertising Age, Billboard, Daily Variety, Newsweek, and more!