Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPED 801: Legal/Professional Issues in Special Education: Scavenger Hunt

This guide is for SPED 801- Legal and Professional Issues in Special Education.  It provides an overview of the research process, how to find information in the library, APA citation, and suggested Education and Special Education resources including the c

Scavenger Hunt Help

Special Education Law

Resource Scavenger Hunt

The purpose of this assignment is to have students familiarize themselves with how to find legal sources online.  Use Forsyth Library’s resources to access this information at http://www.fhsu.edu/library/, as well as the search engine of your choice.

 This guide will walk you through finding the legal information you are searching for in this scavenger hunt.

 

To find a peer-reviewed article:

Option 1:

1) Go Forsyth Library's webpage at www.fhsu.edu/library/

2) Enter some keywords (see Search Strategies for help with keywords) that describe the topic you are interested in and search. 

3) Choose Peer Reviewed to narrow down your results.

4) You will also want to choose Full Text in order to read the article online for the scavenger hunt.

5) Choose an article and click the title to get more information, and then the database (there may be more than one) to access the article.

Option 2:

1) Go Forsyth Library's webpage at www.fhsu.edu/library/

2) Go to Research Databases at https://fhsuguides.fhsu.edu/az.php 

3) Choose a database to search. (See Finding Resources for suggested databases, or pick Education from the Subject dropdown box on the Articles and Databases page. )

One recommended database is :

Education Source
Combines full-text content from other education databases such as Education Full-Text, Teacher Reference Center, and Professional Development Collection into one source.
 
4) Enter some keywords (see Search Strategies for help with keywords) that describe the topic you are interested in and search. 
 
5) Many databases will allow you to pick Peer Reviewed to narrow down your results.
 
6)You will also want to choose Full Text in order to read the article online for the scavenger hunt.
 

To browse the Journal of Law and Education online:

Option 1:

1) Go Forsyth Library's webpage at www.fhsu.edu/library/

2) Enter Journal of Law and Education

3) Choose Full Text Online to narrow down your results

5) Click the title and choose the database to access the journal with. (Education Source is recommended)

6) Browse the issues with the list on the right side.

 

Option 2:

1) Go Forsyth Library's webpage at www.fhsu.edu/library/

2) Got to Research Databases at https://fhsuguides.fhsu.edu/az.php

3) Choose Education Source

4) In the top toolbar, choose Publications

5) Enter Journal of Law and Education

6) Browse the issues with the list on the right side.

U.S. Code

Finding the Statute on Education of Individuals with Disabilities

1) Go to http://uscode.house.gov/

2) Browse the links to the US Code- look for the title for Education

3) Browse for the Chapter on Individuals with Disabilities and select View

 

US Congress

Finding current legislation

1) Go to https://www.congress.gov/

2) Search Current Legislation for Special Education

US Department of Education

1) Go to https://www.ed.gov/

2) Search for Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services

3) Browse OSERS Splotlight for IDEAs Briefs

Center for Response to Intervention

1) Got to http://www.rti4success.org/

2) About Us will have information on funding.

3) Essential Components of RTI will provide information and videos.

 

Blogs

There are several way to find blogs- search with your favorite search engine or pick one from these lists:

OSEP Technical Assistance Center on Positive Behavioral Interventions & Supports

1) Go to  https://www.pbis.org 

2) Under Getting PBIS in My School, choose Find my State Coordinator.