Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide includes research tips and resources for doing Special Education research. Recommended resources include search databases, journals, e-books, webpages, and more.
Combines content from other education databases such as Education Full-Text, Teacher Reference Center, and Professional Development Collection into one source.
Education Resource Information Center. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences and the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC contains more than 1.3 million scholarly journal articles as well as other education-related material. Full-text educational journal (EJ) articles are available as well as educational documents (ED). If full-text educational documents (ED) are not available online, most of them are available on microfiche at Forsyth Library.
*China: Faculty VPN Required.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Offers more than 1.7 million full-text dissertations in the humanities, social sciences, technology and more. Full-text available.*China: Limited Access.
Millions of article citations, some with links to the complete article. To find complete articles, check the box for "Linked Full-Text" under Limit Results on the search page. Covers psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, social work, pharmacology, medicine, law, and education.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.*China: Limited Access.
Select References shown. Search Forsyth Library for more.
Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education by
Publication Date: 2004-03-25
The Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education, Second Edition is a comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special education research and practice.
Handbook of Special Education by
Publication Date: 2011-05-15
Special education is now an established part of public education in the United States--by law and by custom. However, it is still widely misunderstood and continues to be dogged by controversies related to such things as categorization, grouping, assessment, placement, funding, instruction, and a variety of legal issues.
Select E-books shown. Search Forsyth Library for more.
Educating Exceptional Children by
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
Authored by luminaries in the special education field, EDUCATING EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN introduces readers to each of the thirteen disability categories, and discusses the needs of children who are gifted and talented.
Educating One and All by
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
Six articles address how to reconcile educational policies and practices that focus on common learning for all students with those designed to individualize education for the unique student.
Effective Inclusive Schools by
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
How to raise the achievement of all kids, from gifted to those with severe disabilities
The Road Ahead by
Publication Date: 2013-12-11
Successful transition from school to adult life has always been difficult for people with disabilities, especially in the area of employment.
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education by
Publication Date: 2017-04-17
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds.
This is a select list. Search the Forsyth E-Journal List for more special education journals
British journal of special education.
Covers the whole range of learning difficulties relating to children in mainstream and special schools. Particular emphasis on reviews of books, software and other resources; international, national and local policy and practice
International journal of special education
Publishes original articles concerning special education.
A Lithuanian-specific journal that provides a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, disability, discrimination, segregation, integration, inclusion, policy and practices of meeting individual and special needs of human beings, etc.
Teacher Education and Special Education
The purposes of TED are to stimulate and improve the preparation of those who will teach and otherwise work with and for children with disabilities, to encourage research on questions relating to exceptionality and to the teaching of children with disabilities, to establish liaisons with organizations of allied purposes, and to assist chapters and federations of TED in carrying out these purposes at state or provincial levels
Topics in early childhood special education (Online)
Articles, review articles, commentary and book reviews that focus on different aspects of early childhood special education. Topics include staff development, technical assistance, intervention programs, research and practice in early intervention.