Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly articles from a variety of humanities and social science journals. To find complete articles, check the boxes for "articles only" and "only content I have access to" before searching.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other pertinent content.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Useful for nearly any research topic.
A multi-disciplinary database with many full-text, scholarly articles back to 1999, and citations/abstracts prior to 1999.
*China: Limited Access.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Forsyth Library provides licensed access to the following collections in JSTOR: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences VII, and Biological Sciences. These collections include hundreds of different titles across 71 different disciplines. Need tips on searching?
History Reference Center
HRC offers full text from leading history periodicals, historical documents, reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including Federal and State legal cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, full-text of U.S. & World newspapers, business articles, financials, and company/industry information & profiles. Try out the new intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Nexis Uni is the new site for the resource formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Please tell us what you think using this survey
Omnifile Full Text
Article citations, abstracts, and many full-text articles from thousands of magazines, newspapers and scholarly sources. A good choice for most subjects.
These are just a few of the titles available centering on 20th C. history within a global context. To find more, search the Online Catalog. Check the "Finding Books" tab of this guide for more help.
History of the World by
Call Number: General Collection: D20 .R65 1993
Publication Date: 1993-10-21
The Age of Extremes by
Call Number: General Collection: D421 .H582 1994
Publication Date: 1996-02-13
Paris 1919: Six Months that Changed the World by
Call Number: General Collection: D644 .M32 2002
Publication Date: 2003-09-09
Rites of Spring: The Great War and the Birth of the Modern Age by
Call Number: General Collection: D523 .E37 1990
Publication Date: 2000-09-14
Fascism: Past, Present, Future by
Call Number: General Collection: JC481 .L34 1996
Publication Date: 1997-12-11
Find articles on Google Scholar
Credo Reference E-Book Collection
Reference e-books on a wide range of topics. Sources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, Key Concepts and Key Thinkers, handbooks, atlases, and more. Search by keyword or browse titles by topic.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
*Funded by the State Library of Kansas. To access this resource, you will need a Kansas Library eCard. To register for an eCard, visit the Learning Commons Desk at Forsyth Library, contact Crystal Hutchinson (phone: 785-628-4645; email: firstname.lastname@example.org) or register at any public library in the state of Kansas.