Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to use this guide
Welcome to the Twentieth Century World research guide. This library guide is useful to students exploring the political, intellectual, and cultural movements of the Twentieth Century as they occurred as unique events or as representative of larger, global trends. It is divided into the following sections:
Finding articles and Online databases: These databases (searchable collections of information like articles or e-book chapters), will help you find articles related your research topics.
Finding Books & E-books: This search function will direct you towards books in the library or E-books that relate to your research topic.
Primary sources: These are online resources that provide information on matters related to your research topic
Interlibrary Loan: This is a service provided to FHSU faculty, staff, and students who need access research materials that are not owned by Forsyth Library.
Additional titles potentially useful to this course (Available Through Interlibrary Loan)
Europe in Retrospect by
Publication Date: 1979-03-01
The Cold War by
Publication Date: 2010-10-06
The Global Cold War by
Publication Date: 2007-02-19
Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945 by
Publication Date: 2006-09-05
The Wilsonian Moment: Self-Determination and the International Origins of Anticolonial Nationalism, 1917-1920 by
Publication Date: 2009-01-09
The Rise and Fall of Communism by
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Makings of America's Vietnam by
Publication Date: 2014-01-14
Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe, 1944-1956 by
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Where Have All the Soldiers Gone?: The Transformation of Modern Europe by
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
To find more e-books, go to "Find Books" on the library's home page, click one of the options under Electronic Books, and search by keyword.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Useful for nearly any research topic.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including Federal and State legal cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, full-text of U.S. & World newspapers, business articles, financials, and company/industry information & profiles. Try out the new intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Nexis Uni is the new site for the resource formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Please tell us what you think using this survey
Omnifile Full Text
Article citations, abstracts, and many full-text articles from thousands of magazines, newspapers and scholarly sources. A good choice for most subjects.
ABI/INFORM Complete provides thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country and industry profiles. The database covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate.