Annotated Bibliographies

History graduate student Dani Knoll shares her process of writing an Annotated Bibliography.

Cite - Then I create my bibliography, based on Chicago style (note/bibliography). Alphabetically with the hanging indents etc. Once I have all the citations I look at my first secondary source (with history you most likely will have primary sources and secondary, and for this assignment, I only need to do annotations on the secondary sources).

Citation:

Chicago Book Citation: Mayhew, Robert J. "Historical Geography 2007—2008: Foucault's Avatars — Still in (the) Driver's Seat." Progress in Human Geography 33, no. 3 (2009): 387-97

History graduate student Dani Knoll shares her process of writing an Annotated Bibliography.

Summarize - When looking at the first secondary source I first look at what the book is about and what point the author(s) is trying to make. I also look at the table of contents to get a view of what flow the author is trying to follow (chronological or large concept to small, urban to rural, etc.).

After looking at the works, sometimes I will also read book reviews over the work. This can be a sub-step between the summary and assessment. From these, I can gain a different perspective or find a concept they might have missed in their original reading. I can also gain a perspective of any biases that might be found within the work.

Summary:  From the thirtieth anniversary of Foucault’s lectures on governmentality and the publication of the English translation of Security, territory, population, Mayhew’s focus is how Foucault changed the current generation of historical geographers. Throughout the article, Mayhew tries to depict these changes of this sub-discipline and the kinds of work that is being done within it. Mayhew also mentions that with the twentieth anniversary of Cantabridgian historical geographers began applying Foucault’s relevancy to their inquiries and how this sub-discipline remits the Foucauldian corpus.

History graduate student Dani Knoll shares her process of writing an Annotated Bibliography:

Assess – Once I have finished summarizing, I then discuss the author(s), their achievements, and if any other works have been done on this subject. I also mention the authors’ specializations or other publications (if relevant). When finished with the authors I then mention a few of the book’s biases (if any or mention there are none because of x, y, & z). I also add to what kind of audience the source is directed to, if very technical and professional, if less so than possibly professional and general audiences, and so forth.  And if necessary I will mention the sources used or if there are any limitations to the sources.

Assessment: 

part 1 - authority and credibility:Being an expert on the interface of historical geography and intellectual history, Robert Mayhew specializes in the intellectual history of British geography books, demography, and migration between 1660 to 1990 at the University of Bristol. And was also elected as a Fellow of the British Academy for the Anthropology and Geography section of the Academy.

Part 2 - biases and audience intended: As to the biases of Mayhew, he would appear to be a Foucauldian and support the changes that Foucault had with the postmodern era. Making this article targeted toward an audience of professionals that specialize in Foucault and theory within their studies. 

History graduate student Dani Knoll shares her process of writing an Annotated Bibliography:

Reflect – From this point, I will place a sentence or two about this source and what it will add, or the point I am making and how this source will help in that. And if not these points, I will mention how this source will help in aspects of my thesis or connections to the two points needed, from how the sources are used or specific information necessary to the thesis.

Reflection: This work will be helpful in putting the two concepts of Foucault’s theory of power and the concepts of Historical geography and how the two interplay with each other. As well as, how these two concepts work together in developing certain areas within the world over time. Thus, give a deeper understanding of the two theories and their legacies upon each other.  This work will also bring important information when discussing the concepts of power, knowledge, and language from Foucault and bring them with Bourdieu’s symbolism and conformity within the cultural concept. 

History graduate student Dani Knoll shares her process of writing an Annotated Bibliography:

Once everything necessary for the annotation is in place, then I review the annotation, spelling grammar, and make sure I sound coherent. I might change the order of some ideas to help the annotation read better. Then I make sure it is formatted correctly. Once this is done I move on to the next source and repeat steps 3-5 (all citations are already completed).

History graduate student Dani Knoll shares her process of writing an Annotated Bibliography:

Example Annotation from Historical Geography Annotated Bibliography

Mayhew, Robert J. "Historical Geography 2007—2008: Foucault's Avatars — Still in (the) Driver's Seat." Progress in

               Human Geography 33, no. 3 (2009): 387-97.

Being an expert on the interface of historical geography and intellectual history, Robert Mayhew specializes in the intellectual history of British geography books, demography, and migration between 1660 to 1990 at the University of Bristol. And was also elected as a Fellow of the British Academy for the Anthropology and Geography section of the Academy. From the thirtieth anniversary of Foucault’s lectures on governmentality and the publication of the English translation of Security, territory, population, Mayhew’s focus is how Foucault changed the current generation of historical geographers. Throughout the article, Mayhew tries to depict these changes of this sub-discipline and the kinds of work that is being done within it. Mayhew also mentions that with the twentieth anniversary of Cantabridgian historical geographers began applying Foucault’s relevancy to their inquiries and how this sub-discipline remits the Foucauldian corpus. As to the biases of Mayhew, he would appear to be a Foucauldian and support the changes that Foucault had with the postmodern era. Making this article targeted toward an audience of professionals that specialize in Foucault and theory within their studies. This work will be helpful in putting the two concepts of Foucault’s theory of power and the concepts of Historical geography and how the two interplay with each other. As well as, how these two concepts work together in developing certain areas within the world over time. Thus, give a deeper understanding of the two theories and their legacies upon each other.  This work will also bring important information when discussing the concepts of power, knowledge, and language from Foucault and bring them with Bourdieu’s symbolism and conformity within the cultural concept.