Bad Boys by
Statistics show that black males are disproportionately getting in trouble and being suspended from the nation's school systems. Based on three years of participant observation research at an elementary school, Bad Boys offers a richly textured account of daily interactions between teachers and students to understand this serious problem. Ann Arnett Ferguson demonstrates how a group of eleven- and twelve-year-old males are identified by school personnel as "bound for jail" and how the youth construct a sense of self under such adverse circumstances. The author focuses on the perspective and voices of pre-adolescent African American boys. How does it feel to be labeled "unsalvageable" by your teacher? How does one endure school when the educators predict one's future as "a jail cell with your name on it?" Through interviews and participation with these youth in classrooms, playgrounds, movie theaters, and video arcades, the author explores what "getting into trouble" means for the boys themselves. She argues that rather than simply internalizing these labels, the boys look critically at schooling as they dispute and evaluate the meaning and motivation behind the labels that have been attached to them. Supplementing the perspectives of the boys with interviews with teachers, principals, truant officers, and relatives of the students, the author constructs a disturbing picture of how educators' beliefs in a "natural difference" of black children and the "criminal inclination" of black males shapes decisions that disproportionately single out black males as being "at risk" for failure and punishment. Bad Boys is a powerful challenge to prevailing views on the problem of black males in our schools today. It will be of interest to educators, parents, and youth, and to all professionals and students in the fields of African-American studies, childhood studies, gender studies, juvenile studies, social work, and sociology, as well as anyone who is concerned about the way our schools are shaping the next generation of African American boys. Ann Arnett Ferguson is Assistant Professor of Afro-American Studies and Women's Studies, Smith College.
Glee and New Directions for Social Change by
Public schools in early America were designed to ensure the reproduction of Eurocentric social values. It could be argued that little has changed. Gender Lessons takes an in-depth look at how schools institutionalize gender--how kids are taught the rules and expectations of performing masculinity and femininity.
Multiplication Is for White People by
As MacArthur award-winning educator Lisa Delpit reminds us--and as all research shows--there is no achievement gap at birth. In her long-awaited second book, Delpit presents a striking picture of the elements of contemporary public education that conspire against the prospects for poor children of color, creating a persistent gap in achievement during the school years that has eluded several decades of reform. Delpit's bestselling and paradigm-shifting first book, Other People's Children, focused on cultural slippage in the classroom between white teachers and students of color. Now, in "Multiplication is for White People", Delpit reflects on two decades of reform efforts--including No Child Left Behind, standardized testing, the creation of alternative teacher certification paths, and the charter school movement--that have still left a generation of poor children of color feeling that higher educational achievement isn't for them. In chapters covering primary, middle, and high school, as well as college, Delpit concludes that it's not that difficult to explain the persistence of the achievement gap. In her wonderful trademark style, punctuated with telling classroom anecdotes and informed by time spent at dozens of schools across the country, Delpit outlines an inspiring and uplifting blueprint for raising expectations for other people's children, based on the simple premise that multiplication--and every aspect of advanced education--is for everyone.
Other People's Children by
An updated edition of the classic revolutionary analysis of the role of race in the classroom Winner of an American Educational Studies Association Critics' Choice Award and Choice Magazine's Outstanding Academic Book Award, and voted one of Teacher Magazine's "great books," Other People's Children has sold over 150,000 copies since its original hardcover publication. This anniversary paperback edition features a new introduction by Delpit as well as new framing essays by Herbert Kohl and Charles Payne. In a radical analysis of contemporary classrooms, MacArthur Award-winning author Lisa Delpit develops ideas about ways teachers can be better "cultural transmitters" in the classroom, where prejudice, stereotypes, and cultural assumptions breed ineffective education. Delpit suggests that many academic problems attributed to children of color are actually the result of miscommunication, as primarily white teachers and "other people's children" struggle with the imbalance of power and the dynamics plaguing our system. A new classic among educators, Other People's Children is a must-read for teachers, administrators, and parents striving to improve the quality of America's education system.
Promoting Diversity and Social Justice by
Promoting Diversity and Social Justice provides theories, perspectives, and strategies that are useful for working with adults from privileged groups--those who are in a more powerful position in any given type of oppression. The thoroughly revised edition of this accessible and practical guide offers tools that allow educators to be more reflective and intentional in their work--helping them to consider who they're working with, what they're doing, why they're doing it and how to educate more effectively. New features include: A new chapter, "The Joy of Unlearning Privilege/Oppression," highlights specific ways people from privileged groups benefit from unlearning privilege/oppression and from creating greater equity. A new chapter, "Allies and Action," gives focus and guidance on how people from privileged groups can constructively and appropriately be involved in social change efforts. Updated Appendix of additional resources. The theories and approaches discussed can be applied to a range of situations and audiences. This book is an excellent resource for professors, diversity trainers, teachers in classrooms and workshops, counselors, organizers, student affairs personnel, community educators, advocates, group facilitators, and any others involved with educating about diversity and equity.
Teaching When the World Is on Fire : Classroom Conversation in Challenging Times by
In this inspiring collection, the award-winning, bestselling author—and MacArthur genius—gathers all-star advice for K–12 teachers on engaging students around today's toughest issues Is it okay to discuss politics in class? What are constructive ways to help young people process the daily news coverage of sexual assault? How can educators engage students around Black Lives Matter? Climate change? Confederate statue controversies? Immigration? Hate speech?
Understanding White Privilege by
Knowingly and unknowingly we all grapple with race every day. Understanding White Privilege delves into the complex interplay between race, power, and privilege in both organizations and private life. It offers an unflinching look at how ignorance can perpetuate privilege, and offers practical and thoughtful insights into how people of all races can work to break this cycle. Based on thirty years of work in diversity and colleges, universities, and corporations, Frances Kendall candidly invites readers to think personally about how race -- theirs and others' -- frames experiences and relationships, focusing squarely on white privilege and its implications for building authentic relationships across race. This much-anticipated revised edition includes two full new chapters, one on white women and another extending the discussion on race. It continues the important work of the first, deepening our knowledge of the recurring history on which cross-race relationships issues exist. Kendall's book provides readers with a more meaningful understanding of white privilege and equips them with strategies for making personal and organizational changes.
You can search for an E-book in two ways:
1) Search a specific E-book database.
2) Search using our Search Everything bar.
For specific education psychology titles and subjects, I recommend first searching in the ProQuest E-book Central database. Once you type in your book title or subject, choose the filter Owned and subscribed to by my library. This will show you only books we have access to.
E-books come in many forms at Forsyth Library.
These factors depend on how, and from whom, Forsyth Library purchased the e-book. If you have trouble accessing an e-book, please Ask Us for help, and we will try to resolve it for you as quickly as possible.
For specific education psychology titles and subjects, I recommend first searching in the ProQuest E-book Central database. Once you type in your book title or subject, choose the filter Owned and subscribed to by my library. This will show you only books we have access to.
ProQuest Ebook Central is a highly interactive ebook database that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 186,000 titles from more than 280 of the world's leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Install Adobe Digital Editions to download and read ebooks offline on your laptop or on your iOS or Android device. You will also need to create a free Adobe ID account to read the book.
*Includes Academic Complete
E-books come in many forms at Forsyth Library.
These factors depend on how, and from whom, Forsyth Library purchased the e-book. If you have trouble accessing an e-book, please Ask Us for help, and we will try to resolve it for you as quickly as possible.
How do I find E-books in Forsyth Library?
E-books come in many forms at Forsyth Library.
These factors depend on how, and from whom, Forsyth Library purchased the e-book. If you have trouble accessing an e-book, please Ask Us for help, and we will try to resolve it for you as quickly as possible.