Skip to Main Content

Applied Technology: Cite Your Sources

Citation Style Guides

FHSU APA Guide: quick citation guide with examples.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Ed. by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF767.7.P83 2020

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: General Collection, Second Level: BF76.7.P83 2010

Publication Date: 2009--6th Ed.

Superseded by 7th edition. However, some still prefer use of the 6th edition. Consult your instructor about which edition to use.

Excelsior OWL APA
Excellent help guide for APA 7th and 6th editions. Also contains extensive help with academic writing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Created by Excelsior College.
APA Style Blog
APA Guide from the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)
Northwest MO State University APA Citation Style Guide

FHSU MLA Guide: quick citation guide with examples.

MLA Handbook 8th Ed. by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369.M52 2016

ISBN: 9781603292627

Publication Date: 2016-04-01

The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.

The MLA Style Center
A companion to the MLA Handbook. Provides advice, templates, and examples.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab: MLA Style 8th edition
Clear explanations of citation styles, with examples.Also has writing and grammar tips.
MLA Style Citation Examples
from Northwest Missouri State University, provided color-coded templates to follow.
MLA Style Guide from the Purdue OWL

FHSU Chicago Style Guide: quick citation guide with examples.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Complete online edition of "one of the most widely used and respected style guides in the United States." Provides information on grammar, document preparation, and proper citation format.

The Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed. by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9780226287058

Publication Date: 2017-09-05

The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.

Excelsior Online Writing Lab: Chicago Style
Clear explanations of citation styles, with examples.Also has writing and grammar tips.
Massey University Online Writing Lab: Chicago Style
In-depth explanation of Notes-Bibliography System and Author-Date System
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Chicago Style
Well-known site with extensive explanation of citation styles and writing tips.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: LB2369.T8 2018

ISBN: 9780226430577

Publication Date: 2018-04-16

This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards.

American Sociological Association (ASA)
The ASA Guide is currently on its 6th edition
American Chemical Society (ACS)
FHSU has access to this resource online. The most current edition is from 2020. Find more information on our Chemistry guide
Harvard Style
Council of Science Editors Style (CSE)