ART 101 & 102 (Schmierbach)

Notes- Bibliography Entry:

Last Name, First Name.  "Article title in quotation marks". Journal Title italicized volume number, no. issue number (Publication Date in parentheses): page numbers. DOI, permalink, or URL. 

Example:

Benz, Terressa A. “Toxic Cities: Neoliberalism and Environmental Racism in Flint and Detroit Michigan.” Critical Sociology 45, no. 1 (January 2019): 49–62. doi:10.1177/0896920517708339.

Footnote or Endnote:

First Name Last Name,  "Article title in quotation marks". Journal Title italicized volume number, no. issue number (Publication Date in parentheses): page number. DOI, permalink, or URL. 

Example:

Terressa A. Benz,  “Toxic Cities: Neoliberalism and Environmental Racism in Flint and Detroit Michigan.” Critical Sociology 45, no. 1 (January 2019): 50. doi:10.1177/0896920517708339.

Author-Date System Bibliography Entry:

This format depends on the details available. Consult resources for detailed information.

Last Name, First Name. Year. "Article title in quotation marks." Journal Title italicized volume number, no. issue number (month or season in parentheses): article page range.

Example:

Benz, Terressa A. 2019. “Toxic Cities: Neoliberalism and Environmental Racism in Flint and Detroit Michigan.” Critical Sociology 45, no. 1 (January): 49–62. doi:10.1177/0896920517708339.

Bibliography Entry:

Last name, First name. "Title of of dissertation or thesis in quotation marks." Type of document, University Granting Degree, Year of publication. DOI, permanlink, or URL.

Example:

Kirchner, David Elek. "Challenging Private Power: Neighborhood Opposition to Redlining in Three Midwestern Cities." Doctoral Dissertation, Washington University, 2001. https://search.proquest.com/docview/304734464

Footnote or Endnote:

First name Last name, "Title of of dissertation or thesis in quotation marks."  (Type of document, University Granting Degree, Year of publication in parentheses), page number. DOI, permanlink, or URL.

Example:

Kirchner, David Elek. "Challenging Private Power: Neighborhood Opposition to Redlining in Three Midwestern Cities." (Doctoral Dissertation, Washington University, 2001.) 113, https://search.proquest.com/docview/304734464

Author-Date Bibliography Entry:

Last name, First name. Year. "Title of of dissertation or thesis in quotation marks." Type of document, University Granting Degree. DOI, permanlink, or URL.

Example:

Kirchner, David Elek. 2001. "Challenging Private Power: Neighborhood Opposition to Redlining in Three Midwestern Cities." Doctoral Dissertation, Washington University. https://search.proquest.com/docview/304734464

Bibliography Entry:

Last name, First name. Title of Book italicized. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Example:

Aalbers, Manuel B. Place, Exclusion and Mortgage Markets. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2011. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/fhsu/detail.action?docID=697783

Footnote or Endnote:

First name Last name, Title of Book iitalicized. (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. in parentheses), page number. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Example:

Manuel B. Aalbers, Place, Exclusion and Mortgage Markets. (Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2011.) 78. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/fhsu/detail.action?docID=697783

 Author-Date System Bibliography Entry:

Last name, First Name. Year. Title italicized. City of publication: Publisher name. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Example:

Aalbers, Manuel B. 2011. Place, Exclusion and Mortgage Markets. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/fhsu/detail.action?docID=697783

Encyclopedia with an individual author and editor Bibliography Entry:

Last name, First name. "Title of entry in quotation marks." In Title of Encyclopedia italicized. Edited by First Name Last Name. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Example:

Martin, Lori Latrice. "Redlining." In Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice, edited by Sherwood Thompson. Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2014. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/rowmandasj/redlining/0

Encyclopedia with an individual author and editor Footnote or Endnote:

First name Last name, "Title of entry in quotation marks, in Title of Encyclopedia italicized, ed. Editor First name Last Name, Edition, (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. in parentheses), page number. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Example:

Lori Latrice Martin, "Redlining," in Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice, ed. Sherwood Thompson. Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2014. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/rowmandasj/redlining/0

Encyclopedia with an individual author and editor Author-Date System Bibliography Entry:

Last name, First Name. Year. "Title of Entry in quotation marks." In Encyclopedia Title italicized. Edited by First Name Last Name. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Example:

Martin, Lori Latrice. "Redlining." In Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice, edited by Sherwood Thompson. Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2014. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/rowmandasj/redlining/0

Encyclopedia with no individual author and no editor Bibliography Entry:

Title of Encyclopedia italicized, Edition. s.v. "Title of Entry in quotation marks," Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication, or last modified date, or access date. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, s.v. "segregation, racial."  Britannica Digital Learning, 2017.  https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ebconcise/segregation_racial/0 

Encyclopedia with no individual author and no editor Footnote or Endnote:

Title of Encyclopedia italicized, Edition. s.v. "Title of Entry in quotation marks," (Year of publication in parentheses). or last modified date, or access date. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, s.v. "segregation, racial." (2017).  https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ebconcise/segregation_racial/0 

Encyclopedia with no individual author and no editor Author-Date System Bibliography Entry:

Title of Encyclopedia italicized, Edition. s.v. "Title of Entry in quotation marks," Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication, or last modified date, or access date. URL, permalink, DOI, or database.

Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, s.v. "segregation, racial."  Britannica Digital Learning, 2017.  https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ebconcise/segregation_racial/0 

What does s.v. mean?

s.v. stands for sub verbo, Latin for "under the word" and is used to identify the article's title when there is no author 

Bibliography Entry:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of specific web page in quotation marks." Title of site as a whole. Owner or sponsor of site. Publication, modification or access date. URL.

Example:

 "Definition of Redlining in Real Estate." The Balance. Dotdash. Last modified November 21, 2019. https://www.thebalance.com/definition-of-redlining-1798618

Footnote or Endnote:

Author First Name, Last Name."Title of specific web page in quotation marks." Title of site as a whole. Owner or sponsor of site. Publication, modification or access date. URL.

 "Definition of Redlining in Real Estate. "The Balance. Dotdash. Last modified November 21, 2019. https://www.thebalance.com/definition-of-redlining-1798618

Author-Date Bibliography Entry:

Author First Name, Last Name. Year. "Title of specific web page in quotation marks." Title of site as a whole. Owner or sponsor of site. Publication, modification or access date. URL.

 "Definition of Redlining in Real Estate." 2019. The Balance. Dotdash. Last modified November 21, 2019. https://www.thebalance.com/definition-of-redlining-1798618

Give the name of the artist, the title of the artwork (in italics), the year it was made, and where it lives (museum, gallery, etc.). It’s fine to add other information if you know it, such as the size and medium. If you found it online, give the date you found it and the URL. If you found it in a book, cite the book and page number. You can put the information in a caption near the image or in an endnote or footnote. (Images are not usually listed in a bibliography.)

Examples of endnotes or footnotes

7. Georgia O’Keeffe, The Cliff Chimneys, 1938, oil on canvas, 36 × 30 in., Milwaukee Art Museum, accessed December 10, 2015, https://gokmrc.wordpress.com/2014/09/22/a-hike-at-ghost-ranch/.
8. Georgia O’Keeffe, The Cliff Chimneys, 1938, Milwaukee Art Museum, in Barbara Buhler Lynes, Lesley Poling-Kempes, and Frederick W. Turner, Georgia O’Keeffe and New Mexico: A Sense of Place (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2004), 25.

Example for citing within the text of a paper

There are many paintings of the American West. Georgia O’Keeffe’s The Cliff Chimneys (1938, Milwaukee Art Museum) is a famous one.

If you are using author-date citations:

Author-date citations are not normally used to cite images. Instead, put the information about the image into a caption or in parentheses in the text of your paper.

Notes-Bibliography System:

Include a footnote or endnote each time you use a source. These notes have a superscript number for each note, with references at the end of the page (footnote) or document/chapter (endnote). 

How to insert footnotes and endnotes in Word 

If the paper also includes a bibliography, the information in the note can be shortened. If there is not a bibliography, all information should be included in the note. 

Example: "Perhaps the most blatant example of a government instituted system of worthiness occurred within six months of the switch to the Flint River when General Motors (GM) ceased use of the toxic water "¹

1. Terressa A. Benz,  “Toxic Cities: Neoliberalism and Environmental Racism in Flint and Detroit Michigan.” Critical Sociology 45, no. 1 (January 2019): 50. doi:10.1177/0896920517708339.

Author-Date System:

Template:

(Last Name Year)

Example:  (Benz 2019)

Narrative Citations: If you refer to the author in your written text, use only the year in parentheses after the author's name.

Example: Benz (2019) examines environmental racism in Michigan.

Specific Quotes and Paraphrases: Include information about the specific part of your citation, such as page, paragraph, or chapter.

Example: "Perhaps the most blatant example of a government instituted system of worthiness occurred within six months of the switch to the Flint River when General Motors (GM) ceased use of the toxic water " (Benz 2019, 55)

For the Title Page, all text should be center-aligned, double-spaced, all the same font, and the Title and Subtitle is 1/3 down the page, Capitalized and in Bold. And 2/3 down the page place the other information: Name, Course Name and Code, The Date.

Title

Subtitle

Name

Course Name and Code

The Date

For the Bibliography or Reference list

1. On a new page at the end of the main text
2. Use a hanging Indent
3. Have subheadings of Primary and Secondary Sources
4. Turabian style: single space

Bibliography (for Notes-Bibliogrpahy style) or References (For Author-Date style)

Primary Sources

Benz, Terressa A. “Toxic Cities: Neoliberalism and Environmental Racism in Flint and Detroit Michigan.” Critical Sociology 45, no. 1 (January 2019): 49–62. doi:10.1177/0896920517708339.

Benz, Terressa A. 2019. “Toxic Cities: Neoliberalism and Environmental Racism in Flint and Detroit Michigan.” Critical Sociology 45, no. 1 (January): 49–62. doi:10.1177/0896920517708339.

Secondary Sources

Aalbers, Manuel B. Place, Exclusion and Mortgage Markets. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2011. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/fhsu/detail.action?docID=697783

Aalbers, Manuel B. 2011. Place, Exclusion and Mortgage Markets. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/fhsu/detail.action?docID=697783