Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide includes research tips and resources for doing Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) research. Recommended resources include search databases, journals, e-books, webpages, and more.
- Search Everything
- Digital Archives
- Books and More
Get started with a quick search of the catalog and multiple databases.
Search for magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles.
Search Digital Archives to find digitized photos, FHSU theses, yearbooks, and more.
Search Books & More to find books & e-books, print & e-journals, DVDs, CDs, government documents, & more.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Useful for nearly any research topic.
Combines content from other education databases such as Education Full-Text, Teacher Reference Center, and Professional Development Collection into one source.
Education Resource Information Center. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences and the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC contains more than 1.3 million scholarly journal articles as well as other education-related material. Full-text educational journal (EJ) articles are available as well as educational documents (ED). If full-text educational documents (ED) are not available online, most of them are available on microfiche at Forsyth Library.
*China: Faculty VPN Required.
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, from 1959-present. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Select References shown. Search Forsyth Library for more.
Select E-books shown. Search Forsyth Library for more.
Debates in ESOL Teaching and Learning by
Publication Date: 2005-11-10
This unique book provides a lively introduction to the theory and research surrounding the adult learning of English for Speakers of Other Languages.
English Language Learning Materials by
Publication Date: 2008-03-17
This research collection presents a critical review of the materials used for learning English around the world.
Success on Your Certificate Course in English Language Teaching by
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Caroline Brandt's book is an invaluable guide to anyone thinking of enrolling on one of these courses. With a clear and concise structure that follows your general interest in TESOL right through to the intricacies of the course itself, it can be used from initial research stages to final qualifications, and beyond.
Teaching ESL/EFL Reading and Writing by
Publication Date: 2008-10-15
Using a framework based on principles of teaching and learning, this guide for teachers and teacher trainees provides a wealth of suggestions for helping learners at all levels of proficiency develop their reading and writing skills and fluency.
This is a select list. Search the Forsyth E-Journal List for more TESOL journals
Try BrowZine - This new scholarly newsstand platform allows you to create a personalized bookshelf to stay up to date with your favorite scholarly journals and be notified when new issues and articles are available. Use BrowZine.com or the BrowZine app as a newsstand to browse and read scholarly articles from Forsyth Library from any device. Here’s a brief overview video of BrowZine.
Research and practice of English as a second or foreign language. Welcomes studies in ESL/EFL pedagogy, second language acquisition, language assessment, applied socio- and psycholinguistics, and other related areas.
Covers topics of interest to foreign language educators, including research & theory-based practices, practice-oriented theorizing & research, etc.
Dedicated to the dissemination of ideas and issues of interest to teachers of English to speakers of other languages worldwide.
Purdue OWL: ESL Teacher Resources
The list includes links to organizations and journals of interest to language teachers and language policy developers, as well as to a selection of online teaching and reference materials. Each of these links is a portal to an extensive collection of further resources for the professional ESL community.
TESOL Resource Center
The TESOL Resource Center contains lesson plans, teaching tips, activities, assessment tools, and much more.