Research Guides: INF 405: Research Methods in Informatics: Finding Online Resources

Research Planning

Recommended Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
With full-text access to 350 journals and coverage dating as far back as 1915, Library Journal claims that CMMC is one of the most robust databases available for communication studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Forsyth Library provides licensed access to the following collections in JSTOR: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences VII, and Biological Sciences. These collections include hundreds of different titles across 71 different disciplines. Need tips on searching?
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database with many full-text, scholarly articles back to 1999, and citations/abstracts prior to 1999.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a variety of humanities and social science journals. To find complete articles, check the boxes for "articles only" and "only content I have access to" before searching.
Applied Science & Technology Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.