Research Guides: HIST 618: German History: Journals/Articles

What is peer-review?

What is a journal and a peer-reviewed article? video by NEIU Libraries

Scholarly journals may be peer-reviewed, where an editorial board or panel of experts review and evaluate articles before publication. History scholarly articles are typically secondary sources.

Identifying if a journal is peer-reviewed
from Oregon State University

History Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Forsyth Library provides licensed access to the following collections in JSTOR: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences VII, and Biological Sciences. These collections include hundreds of different titles across 71 different disciplines. Need tips on searching?
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a variety of humanities and social science journals. To find complete articles, check the boxes for "articles only" and "only content I have access to" before searching.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Useful for nearly any research topic.

More History Databases

History Journals

Oral History Review
Articles, book and film reviews, and bibliographies deal with the authentication of human experience and research findings in oral history.
Renaissance Quarterly
Encourages connections between different scholarly approaches to bring together material spanning the period from 1300 to 1700 in Western history
Search FHSU E-Journal List for more titles

How to find journal articles

Search in an article database, directly in a journal, or in Forsyth Library's online catalog:

Start at Forsyth's website: http://www.fhsu.edu/library/
Use the Search Everything search bar to search for your title, keywords, or subject area.
- For example, a search for The French Revolution finds over 518,000 results
Use the sidebar and choose Full Text Online and Peer-Reviewed Journals, and/or any choices for your search.
- For example, filtering for these topics found 1,421 results:
  - Full Text Online
  - Peer-Reviewed Journals
  - Tip: Filter by Resource Type to further refine the results. For example, Articles.
  - Tip: Filter the Publication Date From 1992 To 2022 to find articles from the past 30 years
  - Tip: Add additional keywords or choose more specific subjects, choose 1-2 items under Topics. For example, History, then Culture.
Click on the title on an item to learn more about it, to see the full text, or to select the journal database that has the item

See this article search in our catalog