HIST 651: Women in American History: Periodicals

Courtesy of Cornell University Library's Digital Collections, this resource contains the entirety of volumes I (1867) through XXXIII of the landmark fashion magazine Harper's Bazaar.

The premier magazine for African-American culture since 1945, the Ebony Magazine Archive covers more than 800 issues (1945-2014) and provides cover-to-cover fully searchable text and images, providing a perspective on African-American issues, history and more.

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.

An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. This collection includes full-text issues of Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Cosmopolitan, Woman's Day, and more.

Jet Magazine Archive covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.