Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 355: Death & Dying

This guide provides students in SOC 355 the chronological steps to take when conducting research including forming a topic, information seeking strategies, locating resources, reading resources, and the writing process.

Best Bet Databases

A database is an organized collection of accessible research. The databases below are focused on the social sciences, including sociology. They can provide you with valuable scholarly articles for your research. If none of these databases are working for you, there are more available in the sociology section of our general database page. 

Sociology Journals

Trade journals are often one of the best ways to find pertinent, scholarly articles and stay up to date with what is being discussed in the field. Journal issues are also often organized by themes, meaning if you find an article in a single issue, the rest of the issue is bound to have additional articles related to your topic. Additionally, where most databases tend to cover a broad range of disciplines, such as Sociology and Psychology, journals tend to focus on one type of discipline. 

Gender & Society

Is the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, and is a top-ranked journal in sociology and women's studies. Articles analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces. The journal publishes empirical articles, along with reviews of books. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Childhood

Childhood is a major international peer-reviewed journal and a forum for research relating to children in global society that spans divisions between geographical regions, disciplines, and social and cultural contexts. Childhood publishes theoretical and empirical articles, reviews and scholarly comments on children's social relations and culture, with an emphasis on their rights and generational position in society.

American Sociological Review

American Sociological Review (ASR), the ASA's flagship journal, was founded in 1936 with the mission to publish original works of interest to the discipline of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. Peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, all areas of sociology are welcome, with emphasis on exceptional quality and general interest.