Research Guides: Graduate Students' Library Guide: Finding Information Resources

FHSU Collections and Databases

Research Databases
Over 200 databases, can sort by subject, type, or vendor.
E-Book and Audiobooks
Many Graduate Students find ebooks, audiobooks, and podcasts helpful for keeping up with their discipline

Most Popular Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Useful for nearly any research topic.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a full-text news resource offering coverage of over 8,200 local, regional, national and international sources from over 200 countries. Browse replicas of popular local newspapers' like the Topeka Capital Journal and Kansas City Star, with full-color layouts of all news articles, graphics, advertisements, classifieds, weather reports, box scores, puzzles, cartoons and more. Available as soon as print editions.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reporting on current controversial issues, with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including Federal and State legal cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, full-text of U.S. & World newspapers, business articles, financials, and company/industry information & profiles. Try out the new intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Nexis Uni is the new site for the resource formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.

Scholars Repository

FHSU Scholars Repository
This is a great resource for Graduate Students seeking a Thesis and Dissertation option. This repository collects and preserves all the creative and scholarly works of the FHSU community and makes them available to a global audience.
Guide to FHSU Scholars Repository
Find information on how to submit Masters Theses to the FHSU Scholars Repository.

Research Tips

The 6 Stages of Research
For further and more in-depth research help, use this guide to answer any questions not answered here

Research Log
A research log can help you keep track of your progress. Track key terms and websites used (permalinks) - this example doc can be customized to fit your research needs.

More Resources

WorldCat
A great resource for finding books on topics the library might not have. Use the information found in this resource to put in an ILL request.
Google Scholar
A great resource when using Citation Tracing or when looking for Open-access to articles or books.
NDLTD
Networked Digital Library Of Theses and Dissertations
OER (Open Educational Resources)
This guide can offer students assistance through the many resources available for course materials under an open license when looking for supplemental materials for self-study or to clarify concepts.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Many Graduate Students find podcasts helpful for keeping up with their discipline.

Graduate Students' Library Guide

Search

Get started with a quick search of the catalog and multiple databases.

Learn How to Use the Catalog

Search for magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles.

Search Digital Archives to find digitized photos, FHSU theses, yearbooks, and more.

Search Books & More to find books & e-books, print & e-journals, DVDs, CDs, government documents, & more.

FHSU Collections and Databases

Research Tips

More Resources