Research Guides: SOC 310:Gender and Society (Christy Craig): Writing Process

Annotated Bibliographies

This video discusses annotated bibliographies, including:

What is an annotated bibliography?
How an annotated bibliography can help the research process
Types of annotated bibliographies (descriptive, informative, evaluative, combination)
Parts of an annotation (summary, assess, reflect)

How to Embed This Tutorial in Blackboard:

How to Embed This Tutorial in Blackboard:
Select and copy (Ctrl+C) all of the following Embed Code text:
<iframe title="Citation Management and Citation Tracing" width="640" height="360" allowTransparency="true" mozallowfullscreen webkitallowfullscreen allowfullscreen style="background-color:transparent;" frameBorder="0" src="https://app.vidgrid.com/embed/R2BLI37De59g"></iframe>
In Blackboard, create and name an Item (or any other Blackboard tool that includes the standard Text Editor)
Click the HTML button at the bottom right of the Tool Buttons to open the HTML editor
Paste (Ctrl+V) the embed code within the HTML window and click Update and Submit.

Link to VidGrid Video: https://use.vg/F91XG2

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF767.7.P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: General Collection, Second Level: BF76.7.P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009--6th Ed.
Superseded by 7th edition. However, some still prefer use of the 6th edition. Consult your instructor about which edition to use.

Excelsior OWL APA
Excellent help guide for APA 7th and 6th editions. Also contains extensive help with academic writing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Created by Excelsior College.
APA Style Blog
APA Guide from the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)
Northwest MO State University APA Citation Style Guide

MLA Handbook 8th Ed. by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369.M52 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.

The MLA Style Center
A companion to the MLA Handbook. Provides advice, templates, and examples.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab: MLA Style 8th edition
Clear explanations of citation styles, with examples.Also has writing and grammar tips.
MLA Style Citation Examples
from Northwest Missouri State University, provided color-coded templates to follow.
MLA Style Guide from the Purdue OWL

The Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed. by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right. Available online through FHSU.

Excelsior Online Writing Lab: Chicago Style
Clear explanations of citation styles, with examples.Also has writing and grammar tips.
Massey University Online Writing Lab: Chicago Style
In-depth explanation of Notes-Bibliography System and Author-Date System
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Chicago Style
Well-known site with extensive explanation of citation styles and writing tips.

American Sociological Association (ASA)
The ASA Guide is currently on its 6th edition
American Chemical Society (ACS)
FHSU has access to this resource online. The most current edition is from 2020. Find more information on our Chemistry guide
Harvard Style
Council of Science Editors Style (CSE)

Purdue OWL page on ASA references
Summaries and examples of how to format full citations in ASA style
Quick tips for ASA style
From the American Sociological Association
Preparation checklist for ASA manuscripts
From the American Sociological Association

Zotero 101
This Twitter thread is by far the best way to utilize the citation management software Zotero.