Welcome to the course guide for READ 882: Contemporary Research in Language Arts!
This is a mini-website just for you, with suggestions on how to find books and other resources for your work. If you need help at any point in the process, just contact Robyn Hartman, your Library Liaison, and we can work together to answer your questions and get you the information you need.
Lenses on Reading, Third Edition by
Widely adopted as an ideal introduction to the major models of reading, this text guides students to understand and facilitate children's literacy development. Coverage encompasses the full range of theories that have informed reading instruction and research, from classical thinking to cutting-edge cognitive, social learning, physiological, and affective perspectives. Readers learn how theory shapes instructional decision making and how to critically evaluate the assumptions and beliefs that underlie their own teaching. Pedagogical features include framing and discussion questions, learning activities, teacher anecdotes, classroom applications, and examples of research studies grounded in each approach. New to This Edition *Chapter on physiological foundations of reading development, including the impact of nutrition, sleep, and exercise. *Chapter on affective/emotional perspectives, such as the role of engagement and teacher-student relationships. *Additional social learning perspectives: Critical Race Theory and Multiliteracies Theory. *All chapters updated with the latest research; many new teacher anecdotes added.
What Successful Literacy Teachers Do by
Bridging the gap between theory and practice, this book focuses on the academic research base in reading and literacy. Using a convenient format that teachers, trainers, and administrators find easy-to-access, the authors survey and select the best published data and research in reading and literacy and then synthesize it for classroom application and instruction. Each of the 75 research-based classroom strategies in the book includes: * A concise description of the recommended classroom strategy or application; * A brief synthesis of the research that supports use of the strategy; * Guidelines for applying the strategy in the classroom; * Precautions about avoiding pitfalls that may occur during implementation of the strategy; and * Source citations for further research and follow-up. The book includes coverage of research linked to current legislation and controversy ("the reading wars"), including Reading First, scripted reading programs, "evidence" and bilingual learning, but it does not favour or promote specific programmes. The focus always remains on state-of-the-art research translated into practitioner strategies for real learners in real classrooms.
A selection of E-journals from our catalog. Not comprehensive.
The Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education (2nd ed.)
Literacy Research Methodologies by A selection of E-books from our catalog. Not comprehensive.
Hover over the "i" to see more information on the item
Best Practices in Literacy Instruction, Fifth Edition by
This book has been replaced by Best Practices in Literacy Instruction, Sixth Edition, ISBN 978-1-4625-3677-1.
Comprehension Across the Curriculum by
In this timely book, leading scholars present innovative ways to support reading comprehension across content areas and the full K-12 grade range.
Handbook of Adolescent Literacy Research by
The first comprehensive research handbook of its kind, this volume showcases innovative approaches to understanding adolescent literacy learning in a variety of settings.
Handbook of Early Literacy Research by
Building crucial bridges between theory, research, and practice, this volume brings together leading authorities on the literacy development of young children.
Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts by
In an era characterized by the rapid evolution of the concept of literacy, the Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts focuses on multiple ways in which learners gain access to knowledge and skills.
Leadership for Literacy : Research-Based Practice, PreK-3
This groundbreaking text compiles 20 years of research to prove the link between effective literacy programs and the crucial role administrators play in developing successful literacy instruction.
Meeting the Challenge of Adolescent Literacy by
In this concise, thought-provoking book, prominent researchers analyze existing knowledge on adolescent literacy, examine the implications for classroom instruction, and offer specific goals for future research.
Multicultural Issues in Literacy Research and Practice by
This volume brings together researchers and participants from diverse groups, reflecting the different ways in which the field of multicultural literacies has been interpreted.
The Multiple Intelligences of Reading and Writing by
The author of the best-selling book Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom offers practical strategies for teaching reading and writing through multiple intelligences.
Reading in the Wild by
In Reading in the Wild, reading expert Donalyn Miller continues the conversation that began in her bestselling book, The Book Whisperer. While The Book Whisperer revealed the secrets of getting students to love reading, Reading in the Wild, written with reading teacher Susan Kelley, describes how to truly instill lifelong "wild" reading habits in our students. Based, in part, on survey responses from adult readers as well as students, Reading in the Wild offers solid advice and strategies on how to develop, encourage, and assess five key reading habits that cultivate a lifelong love of reading. Also included are strategies, lesson plans, management tools, and comprehensive lists of recommended books. Copublished with Editorial Projects in Education, publisher of Education Week and Teacher magazine, Reading in the Wild is packed with ideas for helping students build capacity for a lifetime of "wild" reading. "When the thrill of choice reading starts to fade, it's time to grab Reading in the Wild. This treasure trove of resources and management techniques will enhance and improve existing classroom systems and structures." --Cris Tovani, secondary teacher, Cherry Creek School District, Colorado, consultant, and author of Do I Really Have to Teach Reading? "With Reading in the Wild, Donalyn Miller gives educators another important book. She reminds us that creating lifelong readers goes far beyond the first step of putting good books into kids' hands." --Franki Sibberson, third-grade teacher, Dublin City Schools, Dublin, Ohio, and author of Beyond Leveled Books "Reading in the Wild, along with the now legendary The Book Whisperer, constitutes the complete guide to creating a stimulating literature program that also gets students excited about pleasure reading, the kind of reading that best prepares students for understanding demanding academic texts. In other words, Donalyn Miller has solved one of the central problems in language education." --Stephen Krashen, professor emeritus, University of Southern California
Reading Research at Work by
This book presents state-of-the-science research on the components of successful literacy learning and how to target them in contemporary classrooms. The volume builds on and extends the work of Steven Stahl, whose pioneering contributions encompassed the key areas of phonemic awareness, phonics, vocabulary, fluency, comprehension, and assessment. Ten classic papers by Stahl are accompanied by 16 new chapters by other leading experts, who highlight Stahl's theoretical, methodological, and instructional innovations; describe how knowledge about each domain continues to evolve; and discuss implications for helping all children become better readers.
Shaping Literacy Achievement by
. Contributors analyze the existing knowledge on core aspects of literacy education, describe how science is currently informing practice, and identify important methodological challenges and research directions.
What Research Has to Say about Reading Instruction by What Successful Literacy Teachers Do by
Bridging the gap between theory and practice, this book focuses on the academic research base in reading and literacy. Using a convenient format that teachers, trainers, and administrators find easy-to-access, the authors survey and select the best published data and research in reading and literacy and then synthesize it for classroom application and instruction. Each of the 75 research-based classroom strategies in the book includes: * A concise description of the recommended classroom strategy or application; * A brief synthesis of the research that supports use of the strategy; * Guidelines for applying the strategy in the classroom; * Precautions about avoiding pitfalls that may occur during implementation of the strategy; and * Source citations for further research and follow-up. The book includes coverage of research linked to current legislation and controversy ("the reading wars"), including Reading First, scripted reading programs, "evidence" and bilingual learning, but it does not favour or promote specific programmes. The focus always remains on state-of-the-art research translated into practitioner strategies for real learners in real classrooms.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service available to FHSU faculty, staff and students to help you obtain research materials not owned by Forsyth Library, or which are inaccessible to those who live too far away to visit the library. Please note that the library does not provide textbooks through Interlibrary Loan. Instructions on using this free service and more information can be found on the Interlibrary Loan Guide.
