Special Collections Research Guide:Books

Primary source material in Fort Hays State University history, military history, and genealogy, as well as information about Western Kansas and the American West.

Finding Books

If you would like to browse for books, come into the Special Collections room (Room 122) and you will find several rows of shelves with books on Kansas, the Great Plains, the American West and the "Old West". 

Below are some suggested subject headings that you can input into the online catalog to find books that we have in the Great Plains Collection.

  • Kansas—History
  • (Name of county) (Kan.)—History - Ellis County (Kan.)—History 
  •  Frontier and Pioneer Life—Kansas
  • Frontier and Pioneer Life—Southwest, New
  • West (U.S.)—History
  • West (U.S.)—Discovery and Exploration
  • (Name of Indian tribe) Indians—History—19th Century  -  Wichita Indians—History—19th Century           
  • Indian Territory—History
  • Indians of North America—Great Plains—History
  • Indians of North America—Wars—West (U.S.)
  • Cowboys—West (U.S.)—History
  • Cattle Trade—West (U.S.)—History
  • Railroads—West (U.S.)--History
  • United States. Army—Military Life—History—19th Century

General Books and Reference Books - Online Sources in the Library's Databases

Reference Print Sources (located in the General Collection) - American West

General Books and Reference Books - Other Online Sources

Search

Get started with a quick search of the catalog and multiple databases.
Search for magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles.
Search Digital Archives to find digitized photos, FHSU theses, yearbooks, and more.
Search Books & More to find books & e-books, print & e-journals, DVDs, CDs, government documents, & more.

Reference Print Sources in Special Collections - Kansas and the American West