Remember, before you start searching, spend some time figuring out your topic. Most searches fail because we haven't narrowed our topic enough to get specific search terms.
If you aren't sure what topic you want to use, look through your textbook, course notes, talk to your professor, or do a quick general browser search. Just remember to start using library resources when you know what you want to do.
If you are not sure how to narrow your topic, watch this tutorial: Defining your topic
Use background research to help you decide on a topic and develop your keywords for searching
On Reserve (Go to the front desk)
Many of your classes will ask you to utilize New York Times for various assignments. Here is how you do it:
God to NYT Edupass . You must use your FHSU e-mail address to create an account.
***Accounts are active for 364 days. If your account has expired use the same NYT Edupass link and log-in at that page to reactivate your account.***
Brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Consists of over 30 largely full-text journals and aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Journals are vetted, peer reviewed collections of scholarly articles centered around a theme. Rule of thumb: if you find an article related to your topic in a journal volume, there is a decent chance other articles in the same volume will be useful.
If you would like to browse for books, look in these areas in the General Collection on the 2nd floor, or the Reference Collection on the Main floor:
General Communication: P87-P89
Business Communication: HF5718-5735
Journalism: PN4699-5650
Mass Media: P90
Nonverbal Communication: BF637
Public Relations/Advertising: HF5801-6182
Small Group Communication: HM133