Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
The Concise APA HandbookFour Elements of Reference List Entries
Template:
Author. (Date). Title. Source.
Author Last Name, Author Initial(s). (Year in parentheses). Title. Journal Title Italicized, Volume Italicized(Issue in parentheses), page range. DOI, permalink, or URL
Example:
Vrchota, D. (2011). Communication in the disciplines: Interpersonal communication in dietetics. Communication Education, 60(2), 210–230. https://doi.org/10.1080/03634523.2010.523475
Author Last Name, Author Initial(s). (Year in parentheses). Title italicized. Publisher Name.
Example:
Egolf, D. (2012). Human communication and the brain: Building the foundation for the field of neurocommunication. Lexington Books.
Author Last Name, Author Initial(s), (Year in parentheses). Chapter title in sentence case. In Editor first initial. Editor Last Name (Ed.); Book title in italics. (edition, pp. page numbers of chapter). Publisher.
Peterson, B. (2011). Media violence has harmful effects on young people. In N. Merino (Ed.), Introducing issues with opposing viewpoints. Media violence (pp. 11-16). Greenhaven Press.
Published Dissertation or Theses
Author Last Name, Author Initial(s). (Year in parentheses). Title of dissertation or thesis italicized [Doctoral dissertation/Master's thesis, Name of Institution Awarding the Degree in brackets]. Database or Archive Name. URL.
Example:
Blinne, K. C. (2014). Communication as yoga [Doctoral dissertation, University of South Florida]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. https://search.proquest.com/docview/1530298507
Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry with an individual author and an editor:
Author Last Name, Author Initial(s). (Year in parentheses). Title of entry. In Editor Initial(s) Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia italicized (edition, page numbers in parentheses). Publisher Name. URL, permalilnk, or DOI
Example:
Mitcho, S. R. (2017). Feminist pedagogy. In M. Peters (ed.), Encyclopedia of educational philosophy and theory. Springer Science+Business Media. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/sprepat/feminist_pedagogy/0
Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry with no author and no editor:
Title of entry. (Year in parentheses). Title of encyclopedia italicized (edition, page numbers in parentheses). Publisher Name. URL, permalilnk, or DOI
Example:
Education. (2003). In The MacMillan encyclopedia (2nd ed.). Market House Books Ltd. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/move/education/0
Wikipedia
Wikipedia entry title. (Year, Month Day). In Wikipedia. Version URL.
Example:
Manchester baby. (2022, June 21). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Manchester_Baby&oldid=1094218071
A personal interview, whether in person, online, or via email, is considered personal communication and should be cited in-text, but does not require a citation in your reference list.
(First Initial. Last Name, personal communication, Month Day, Year).
Example:
(H. Smith, personal communication, May 08, 2020)
YouTube Videos:
Real last name, First initial. [Username]. (Year, Month Day). Video title [Video]. YouTube. URL
Example:
Wagner, S. [Simone Wagner]. (2016, June 29). What is media literacy? [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/AD9jhj6tM50
Podcaster Last Name, First Initial. (Host). (Air dates). Title in italics. [Audio podcast]. Podcast producer. URL.
Example:
Meraji, S. M., & Demby, G. (Hosts). (2016–present). Code switch [Audio podcast]. National Public Radio. https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510312/codeswitch
Author Last Name, Initial(s) or Corporate Author. (Date published or updated in parentheses). Title of webpage italicized. Site Name. URL
Example:
Silver, F. (2018, July 01). Why is it important for teachers to have good communication skills? Chron. http://work.chron.com/important-teachers-good-communication-skills-10512.html
Use the Author-Date Citation System to cite your references in the text of your paper
Template:
(Last Name, Year)
Example: (Vrchota, 2011)
Narrative Citations: If you refer to the author in your written text, use only the year in parentheses after the author's name.
Example: Vrchota (2011) interviewed seven registered dietitians.
Specific Quotes: Direct quoting is rare in APA, and should be used sparingly.
When you do directly quote a resource, include information about the specific part of your citation, such as page, paragraph, or chapter.
Example: "Relationships are built through the negotiated progression of increased and reciprocated disclosures by the participants" (Vrchota, 2011, p. 221).
Examples:
(Last Name, Year).
Many programs do not have curriculum dedicated to classroom management and, if it does, it is restricted within one course at best (Hammerness 2011).
This is evidenced by Dunn and Rakes (2011) who appraised the collective impact of teacher efficacy and concerns on learner-centered practices (LCP) which they link to classroom management.
Instead, a-contextual understanding persists and is particularly problematic given the introduction and importance of CRCM, which is used to address the diverse needs of students (Whitaker and Valtierra 2018; Yang and Montgomery 2013).
Chambers and Hardy (2005) found that classroom management beliefs tend to stay consistent over time based on a pretest-posttest questionnaire of secondary teacher-education students, whereas others have identified preservice teachers shifting towards a more relational understanding (Jones and Vesilind 1995; Kwok 2020).
(Last Name, Year, p. number)
"Relationships are built through the negotiated progression of increased and reciprocated disclosures by the participants" (Vrchota, 2011, p. 221).
Kaufman and Moss (2010) found that teachers defined classroom management as “maintaining discipline and controlling behavior” (p. 127).
Use the first author plus "et al."
Teacher candidates (TCs), also called preservice teachers, often are the least prepared in classroom management compared with any other pedagogical skill (Albrecht et al. 2009).