Research Guides: APS 921: The Scholar Practitioner: Scholar-Practitioner Resources

Welcome

This guide is for APS 921 The Scholar-Practitioner. It provides an overview of the research process, how to find information in the library, APA citation, suggested Education resources, and specific resources about Scholar-Practitioners and the Plato reading.

Practitioner Resources

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Same content as ERIC.ed.gov, with the advantages of the EBSCOhost search interface, more full-text, and the ability to search other databases at the same time.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Combines content from other education databases such as Education Full-Text, Teacher Reference Center, and Professional Development Collection into one source.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 1.7 million full-text dissertations in the humanities, social sciences, technology and more.

Scholar-Practitioner Quarterly
A peer-reviewed, scholarly international journal of the Leadership for Social Justice consortium. Publishes theoretical and practical discussions of scholarly practice in the field of educational administration, and serves as a forum for the exchange of ideas reflecting scholarly inquiry as inseparable from practice.

Educational Leadership and Moral Literacy : The Dispositional Aims of Moral Leaders
ISBN: 9781610487283
What makes a moral person moral? Who decides what morality means? What makes leadership practice moral? In today’s schools, what stands as moral leadership? These are questions that reflect the complexity integral to the calculus of human morality, especially in a world that is defined daily by its variant meanings of morality, its acts of immorality. The school as an educational setting is or should be a decidedly moral center of the society; it is the natural intersect between the family and the multi-dimensional nature of public life. Educational Leadership and Moral Literacy addresses these questions, situating the reader in a conversation that examines the meaning and nature of moral leadership through the lens of moral literacy and the dispositional aims of moral leadership in educational settings.
In Their Own Words by Jill Alexa Perry
ISBN: 9781623962586
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The chapters in this book tell the reader a story of transformation providing several narratives that describe each graduate’s progression through their doctoral studies. Authors specifically chronicle how individual EdD programs prepared them to be scholarly practitioners, and how their doctoral studies changed who they have become as people and practitioners.

Fire & Ice: Igniting & Channeling Passion in New Qualitative Researchers
Fire & Ice presents the educational inquiry process to school practitioners and aspiring leaders. The context for this study is unusual because it addresses inquiry learning at both the master's and doctoral level and within group settings.

Selected Myths by Plató; Catalin Partenie
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780191517105
. This volume brings together ten of the most celebrated Platonicmyths, from eight of Plato's dialogues ranging from the early Protagoras and Gorgias to the late Timaeus and Critias. They include the famous myth of the cave from Republic as well as 'The Judgement of Souls' and 'The Birth of Love'.
Republic by Plato; C. D. C. Reeve (Translator)
Call Number: JC71 .P513 2004
This edition includes a select bibliography, a synopsis of each book, a glossary of terms, a glossary and index of names, and a general index.

Plato: "The Allegory of the Cave"
from NBC Learn, Excerpt from "The Republic of Plato" in which Socrates explains the relative ignorance of most people by using an allegory of people in a cave, able to see only shadows of life instead of life itself.
The Republic by Plato
from Project Gutenberg.

To find practitioner articles, generally written by acting or former school administrators, I suggest searching in our education databases directly.

In Education Source in Advanced Search, you can choose Case and Case Study as your document type. Then search using your keywords for your topic. This should help narrow down your results to publications by the practitioners who did the case study.

undefined

In ERIC via EBSCO, in Advanced Search, you can choose the Intended Audience (practitioners, teachers) to find results that may be examples written by practitioners for practitioners.

undefined

You can also add case study to your keywords search, but choose SU Subject Terms in the select a field drop-down

undefined

Knowing if the author is a researcher or practitioner can be difficult. Some publications give a biography with author background. Sometimes this is enough to determine researcher/practitioner, sometimes you may have to do some reading within the article or some online searching to find an author profile.

For example, I searched the Teacher Reference Center for full text, peer-reviewed articles with the Subject term Case Study and the keyword special education (anywhere in the result). I found this article: Constructing and resisting disability in mathematics classrooms: a case study exploring the impact of different pedagogies. It indicated that the author, Rachel Lambert, was at the College of Educational Studies, Chapman University. This may be enough to determine that Lambert is an academic, but a quick google search for her showed me her faculty profile.

undefined