Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TEEL 260: Children's Literature: Children's Literature at Forsyth

This guide is for TEEL 260 Children's Literature. It provides an overview of award-winning children's books found at Forsyth Library, how to find information in the library, Education Resources, and suggests Diverse and Anti-Racism children's books. 

Harsh Juvenile Collection

Pictures of children's books

The Harsh Juvenile Collection is Forsyth Library’s anthology of children's literature. It is arranged in the Dewey Decimal classification system. This collection is primarily used by the children and young adult literature classes at the University.

The collected works of juvenile books are named the Harsh Juvenile Collection after Donna Harsh, retired education professor from Fort Hays State University. Ms. Harsh donated a special children’s literature collection to Forsyth Library. And because of her generous gift, the library dedicated, and named, Forsyth Library Room 015 the Harsh Room.

How to Search for Children's Books

  • Start at Forsyth's website: http://www.fhsu.edu/library/
  • Use the Search Everything search bar to search for your title, keywords, or subject area

Forsyth Library search page

  • A search for Children's Literature finds over 600,000 results
  • To narrow this down, use the sidebar and choose Books, Available in the Library, and located in the Juvenile Collection and/or any other choices for your search
  • Click on Details on an item to learn more about it
  • Click on Get It to see item availability and location, including the call number, such as  J 978 M8645y 2002

Exmaple search

 

How are Children's Books organized in Forsyth Library? 

The Harsh Collection uses the Dewey Decimal System. Items are organized by subject, starting with broad topic areas and getting more specific, so like items will usually be shelved together.

This can be helpful when you want to browse topics, but always check the online catalog to direct you to a specific item.

Each call number in this collection begins with a J, to indicate it is part of the Juvenile Collection.  It is then followed by a call number. 

The collection is organized by subject, indicated by the first number.

  • 000 Generalities
  • 100 Philosophy & psychology
  • 200 Religion
  • 300 Social sciences
  • 400 Language
  • 500 Natural sciences & mathematics
  • 600 Technology (Applied sciences)
  • 700 The arts
  • 800 Literature & rhetoric
  • 900 Geography & history

 

Feedback on Guide