Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Forsyth Library Tutorials

Use these videos, tutorials, and other tools to learn how about Forsyth Library, how to use Forsyth Library's resources and services, and tips for research, writing, and citing.

Tutorials to Learn About Using Forsyth Library Resources

Using the Search Everything Tool

This interactive tutorial will guide you step-by-step as you learn about the various features of the Search Everything tool on the library homepage:

  • Using Search Everything
  • Save/Email search results to My Account
  • Citation generation tool
  • Permalink tool

undefined

Your Forsyth Library Account

This video describes the features and benefits of using the My Library Account function of Forsyth Library's website including:

  • Signing in
  • Account Details
  • Saving Search Results

Your Forsyth Library Account Tutorial

What is a Database?

This video provides an overview of using library databases, covering the following:

  • What is a library database?
  • Why use library databases for research assignments?
  • How to access library databases?
  • Database features for more effective searching

What is a Database Tutorial

Accessing Full Text Articles

This video discusses a few tips for locating the full text of an article using Forsyth Library's resources including:

  • Accessing full text using Forsyth Library's Search Everything tool
  • Link resolver page
  • Orienting to database layouts to find the full text (html or PDF)

Full Text Tutorial

Interlibrary Loan

This video discusses information about Forsyth Library's interlibrary loan service, including:

  • What can you borrow through ILL
  • Instances when you might use ILL
  • How to request an item through ILL
  • Delivery

Troubleshooting

If you are experiencing issues accessing Forsyth Library's resources and databases, this video will guide you through troubleshooting strategies including:

  • University Affiliation
  • TigerNetID
  • Click Path
  • Web Browsers
  • Wifi Networks

Linking to Library Resources

Use this guide for best practices for linking to resources in library databases. Learn about permalinks, and where to find them in Ebsco, ProQuest, Gale, and other library databases.

Linking to Library Resources LibGuide Screenshot

Embedding and Integrating Tutorials into Blackboard

How to Embed This Tutorial in Blackboard:

  1. Visit the VidGrid link provided in the table above
  2. Select and copy (Ctrl+C) all of the Embed Code text listed in the video description on VidGrid
  3. In Blackboard, create and name an Item (or any other Blackboard tool that includes the standard Text Editor) 
  4. Click the HTML button at the bottom right of the Tool Buttons to open the HTML editor 
  5. Paste (Ctrl+V) the embed code within the HTML window and click Update and Submit

How to Add Library Tutorial Playlist (SCORM) into Blackboard:

  1. Open your course in Blackboard and find where you’d like to put it. From the "Build Content" Dropdown, choose “Content Package (SCORM)".
  2. From the "Attach File" area, select "Browse Content Collection".
  3. From the "Browse" tab's dropdown arrow, select “Library Content". Select the “Forsyth Library Tutorials” folder.
  4. Select the checkbox next to the desired tutorial playlist .zip file and click "Submit"
  5. Choose "Submit" again (this step takes a while to load the next screen).
  6. Add a title and description. Under "SCORM Availability" select the following settings:
    1. Make SCORM Available: YES
    2. Number of Attempts: Allow unlimited attempts
    3. Track Number of Views: YES
  7. Under "Grading" select your desired options (NOTE: You must select grading options now, you won’t be able to change the grading items after importing the SCORM object into your course. We suggest the default settings, but descriptions are below.)
    1. No Grading - You could pair the library tutorials with an additional Blackboard item such as a Discussion Question, Quiz, or other assignment. This means that Bb does not add an individual line item in to your gradebook for SCORM.
    2. SCORM Score - Marks the SCORM as a full or partial score in the gradebook based on the progress the student made in advancing through the SCORM
    3. SCORM Completion - Marks the SCORM as a checkmark in your gradebook once the student selects the last item in the SCORM
    4. SCORM Satisfaction - Not enabled
  8. The SCORM should now appear as an item in your course. By default the SCORM opens up as a pop-up window. However, for a better student experience, click the small grey arrow to the right of the SCORM title in your Learning Module and select "Edit".
  9. Scroll down to the "Advanced Options" section of the screen and select "Yes". Click the second menu item "Launch Behavior" and under SCO Launch Type, select "Frameset" from the dropdown menu. Click "Submit"