Research Guides: FHSU Source Locator: Professional Sources

What are Professional Sources?

An excerpt from Choosing and Using Sources:

Professional magazine articles are meant for people in a particular profession and are often accessible through a professional organization. Staff writers or other professionals in the targeted field write these articles at a level and with the language to be understood by everyone in the profession.

Additionally, they are:

About trends and news from the targeted field, book reviews, and case studies.
Often less than 10 pages, some of which may contain footnotes and references.
Usually published by professional associations and commercial publishers.
Published after approval from an editor.

Resource	For Free At Forsyth Library	For Free	For Purchase
Blogs		Professional Organization Websites Search Engines, such as: -Blog Search Engine
Books, Ebooks	Forsyth eBook Databases Many library books are not available in e-reader format (such as Kindle) but on an e-reader available through a web browser.	Local Public Libraries, such as: Hays Public Library State Library of Kansas eBooks (see note on Home tab)	Publisher Websites Professional Organization Websites Local and Online Booksellers, such as: -Amazon -Barnes & Noble
Conference Papers	Forsyth Library Subject Databases	Professional Organization Websites Search Engines, such as: -Google Scholar	Professional Organization Websites Search Engines, such as: -Google Scholar
Magazines, Journals Wikipedia list of Trade magazines	Forsyth eJournal Search Forsyth Library Subject Databases Forsyth Magazine Databases	State Library of Kansas Online Databases (see note on Home tab) Publisher Websites Professional Organization Websites Search Engines, such as: -Google Scholar	Publisher Websites Professional Organization Websites Search Engines, such as: -Google Scholar
News and Newspapers	Forsyth News Databases	State Library of Kansas Online Databases (see note on Home tab) Professional Organization Websites Some organizations offer free access, while others limit access to a certain number of articles per month.	Professional Organization Websites Some organizations limit access to paid subscribers
Online Video	Forsyth Library Video Databases	Professional Organization Websites Video Hosting Platforms, such as: -YouTube -Vimeo	Professional Organization Websites
Podcasts		Podcast Hosting Platforms, such as: -Apple Podcasts -Spotify	Some podcasts and platforms offer premium, additional, or ad-free content for a fee
Websites May contain scholarly articles, news, videos, policy papers, and more.		Professional Organization Websites Search Engines such as: -Google -Bing Some organizations offer free access, while others limit access to paid members.	Professional Organization Websites Search Engines such as: -Google -Bing Some organizations offer free access, while others limit access to paid members.

FHSU Source Locator

What are Professional Sources?

Resource

For Free At Forsyth Library

For Free

For Purchase