Books

To find more books, search the Online Catalog.

Global Warming: A Very Short Introduction by Mark Maslin
Call Number: General Collection: QC981.8 .G56 M38 2004
What is global warming? -- A brief history of the global warming hypothesis -- Your viewpoint determines the future -- What is the evidence for climate change? -- How do you model the future? -- What are the possible future impacts of global warming? -- Surprises -- Politics -- What are the alternatives? 162 pages.
Earth Under Fire: How Global Warming is Changing the World by Gary Braasch
Call Number: General Collection: QC981.8 .C5 B715 2007
Publication Date: 2007
"Photojournalist and author Braasch (Photographing the Patterns of Nature) uses his award-winning skill behind the camera to produce a practical, level-headed and thorough overview of the current state of global warming, from a ground-level definition to stunning images of its effects: villages swept away by encroaching water, immigrating plant populations, disappearing glaciers and decimated habitats. ~Publishers Weekly
Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution, and How it can Renew America by Thomas L. Friedman
Call Number: General Collection: GE197 .F75 2008b
Publication Date: 2008
"Examines America's loss of focus and national purpose since 9/11, and the global environmental crisis, and shows how the solutions to these two problems are linked."
The Weather Makers: How Man is Changing the Climate and What it Means for Life on Earth by Tim Flannery
Call Number: General Collection: QC981.8 .C5 F438 2006
Publication Date: 2006
"Originally somewhat of a global warming skeptic, Tim Flannery spent several years researching the topic and offers a connect-the-dots approach for a reading public who has received patchy or misleading information on the subject. Pulling on his expertise as a scientist to discuss climate change from a historical perspective, Flannery also explains how climate change is interconnected across the planet. "
Hope for a Heated Planet: How Americans are Fighting Global Warming and Building a Better Future by Robert K. Musil
Call Number: General Collection: QC981.8 .G56 M876 2009
Understanding climate change : a public health approach -- Home, home on the range : climate change in the United States -- The power of the carbon lobby -- Framing and talking about global warming -- Assessing the big greens : start over or build from strength? -- The new climate movement -- Where do emissions and energy come from? -- Energy futures -- Creating hope : what you can do -- Hope for a heated planet : policy and politics.
Greenhouse of the Dinosaurs: Evolution, Extinction, and the Future of Our Planet by Donald R. Prothero
Call Number: General Collection: QE861.6 .E95 P76 2009
Greenhouse of the dinosaurs -- Bad lands, good fossils -- Magnets and lasers -- "Punk eek" in the badlands -- Death of the dinosaurs -- Marine world -- Rocky mountain jungles and eel's ears -- From greenhouse to icehouse -- Once and future greenhouse? -- Kids, dinosaurs, and the future of paleontology.
Clean Energy Common Sense: An American Call to Action on Global Climate Change by Frances Beinecke
Call Number: General Collection: TD885.5 .C3 B45 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Introduction -- A clear and present danger -- Fire and ice -- Cradle of peril -- Greenprint : a blueprint for change -- Putting Americans back to work -- A nation confident, strong, and secure -- Our world, our time -- Epilogue : One citizen's appeal
Surviving the Century: Facing Climate Chaos and other Global Challenges by Ed. by Herbert Girardet
Call Number: General Collection: HC79 .E5 S86453 2007
Future : what future? -- Addressing climate chaos -- Renewable energy is the future -- Feeding people in an age of climate change -- Climate and the Amazon -- Creating sustainable and liveable cities -- Cradle to cradle production -- A radical new vision for world trade -- The promise of living democracy.
The Ultimate Guide to America's Weather by Jack Williams
Call Number: General Collection: QC981.2 .W55
Publication Date: 2009
"A clearly written, profusely illustrated narrative guide to weather...with its attractive, easy-to-understand graphics, [it] offers a useful, engaging basic introduction to a wide variety of weather-related topics."~Choice

Government Documents Online

To find more government documents, search for climate change or related terms in the Online Catalog, then select Government Documents under Select Location on the right side of the results screen.

USGS global change science strategy: a framework for understanding and responding to climate and land-use change / by Virginia R. Burkett ... [et al.] ; Global Change Strategic Science Planning Team, 2011.

The climate crisis: national security, public health, and economic threats : hearing before the Subcommittee on Energy and Environment of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, 111th Congress, first session, February 12, 2009.

Bagne, K. (2011). A system for assessing vulnerability of species (SAVS) to climate change. U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service.

Stitt, S., Dwyer, J., Dye, D., and Josberger, E. (2011). Terrestrial essential climate variables (ECVs) at a glance: U.S. Geological Survey Scientific Investigations Map 2011–3155 (1 plate; no scale).

Climate change: observations on options for selling emissions allowances in a cap-and-trade program : report to the Chairman, Committee on Finance, U.S. Senate.

Drought and Climate Change [Effects] On Water Resources: Hearing before the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, U.S. Senate, 112th Congress, April 27, 2011.

Dr. John Heinrichs

Visit Dr. Heinrich's Web Page

Kristin Tardif

Articles

Extreme Weather: Sept. 2011 in-depth report from CQ Researcher database

Global Warming: 2009 report from Issues & Controversies database

Recommended by Dr. Heinrichs:

Post to the NY Times' "The Lede" Blog:

Katharine Q. Seelye. (2011, August 19). A Full Year of Weather Disasters and an Economic Toll to Match. [blog post].

Cullen, H. (2011, July 19). The sizzle factor for a restless climate [Op-Ed]. New York Times Online.

Gillis, J. (2011, August 27). Seeing Irene as a harbinger of a change in climate. New York Times Online.

Gillis, J. (2010, August 14). In weather chaos, a case for global warming. New York Times Online.

A sampling of other relevant articles from the library's databases:

Abatzoglou, J. T., & Kolden, C.A. (2011). Climate change in western US deserts: Potential for increased wildfire and invasive annual grasses. Rangeland Ecology & Management, 64(5):471-478. doi: 10.2111/REM-D-09-00151. Retrieved from Bio One database

Nerlich, B., Evans, V., & Koteyko, N. (2011).Low carbon diet: Reducing the complexities of climate change to human scale. Language & Cognition, 3(1), 45-82. doi:10.1515/LANGCOG.2011.003

Breshears, D.D., Lopez-Hoffman, L., & Graumlich, L.J. (2011). When Ecosystem Services Crash: Preparing for Big, Fast, Patchy Climate Change. AMBIO: A Journal of the Human Environment, 40, 256-263. Retrieved from BIO One database.

Simpson, C. (2011). Communicating uncertainty about climate change: The scientists' dilemma. M/C Journal, 4. Retrieved from Communication & Mass Media database.

Semenza, J.C., Ploubidis, G.B., & George, L.C. (2011). Climate change and climate variability: personal motivation for adaptation and mitigation.Environmental Health, (10)46. doi:10.1186/1476-069X-10-46. Retrieved from BioMed Central database (open access).

Esty, D.C. (2008). Rethinking global environmental governance to deal with climate change: The multiple logics of global collective action. The American Economic Review, 98(2), 116-121.

Web Sites

Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet (NASA) A wealth of information on climate change, including key indicators, evidence, causes, interactive media, images, statistics, graphs, and much more.

State of Flux Image Library (NASA) "Each week, the State of Flux features images of different locations on planet Earth, showing change over time periods, ranging from centuries to days. Some of these effects are related to climate change, some are not. Some document the effects of urbanization, or the ravage of natural disasters such as fires and floods. All show our planet in a state of flux."

Environmental Protection Agency: Climate Change

Climate Research from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

NOAA El Nino information site Comprehensive information about El Nino, including FAQs, data, videos, forecasts, and 3D animation.

NOAA/National Weather Service Photo Library

UCAR: University Corporation for Atmospheric Research UCAR provides services to and promotes partnerships in a collaborative community of researchers and educators who are dedicated to understanding the atmosphere—the air around us—and the complex processes that make up the Earth system, from the ocean floor to the Sun's core. We manage the National Center for Atmospheric Research and UCAR Community Programs on behalf of the National Science Foundation and the university community.

NASA Ozone Hole Watch "View the latest status of the ozone layer over the Antarctic, with a focus on the ozone hole. Satellite instruments monitor the ozone layer, and [NASA uses] their data to create the images that depict the amount of ozone."

Ten Things You Never Knew About the Earth (NASA) Slideshow

Theses

Jacquez, G. Y. (2010). Climate change: implications for Montane mammals of the Great Basin. Biology Thesis, Fort Hays State University, Hays, Kansas.

Times Talk Topics:Climate Change

Table of Contents