Research Guides: Military History: Afghanistan

Google Scholar

Google Books

Reference E-books

Credo Reference E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books on a wide range of topics. Sources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, key concepts, key thinkers, handbooks, atlases, and more. Search by keyword or browse titles by topic.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica contains a wealth of information in addition to encyclopedia entries, such as a Compare Countries tool, Timelines, videos, World Data Analyst, and more.

Print

The Hunt for Bin Laden: Task Force Dagger by Robin Moore
Call Number: General Collection: HV6432 .M66 2003

These are just a few of the books available about Afghanistan and the Afghan War. To find more, use the Online Catalog to search for keywords such as afghanistan, war on terrorism, terrorism, etc. Check the "Finding Books" tab of this guide for more help.

Shadow War: The Untold Story of How America is Winning the War on Terror by Richard Miniter
Call Number: General Collection: HV6432 .M546 2004
Imperial Hubris: Why the West is Losing the War on Terror by Anonymous
Call Number: General Collection: HV6432 .I47 2004
Afghanistan: Opposing Viewpoints by Noah Berlatsky
Call Number: Reference: JQ1769 .A15 A325 2010
What is the military situation in Afghanistan? -- What is the status of human rights in Afghanistan? -- What progress is Afghanistan making toward democracy? -- How should the drug trade be confronted in Afghanistan?
The Soviet-Afghan War: How a Superpower Fought and Lost by the Russian General Staff ; translated and edited by Lester W. Grau and Michael A. Gress
Call Number: General Collection: DS371.2 .S665 2002
War and the Media: Reporting Conflict 24/7 by Thussu and Freedman
Call Number: General Collection: PN4784. W37 W38 2003

Government Documents

To find more Government Documents, search the Online Catalog and select "government documents" under Location. More information available here

Maps

A to Z Maps This link opens in a new window
Find a wide variety of maps of Afghanistan in our A to Z Maps Database.

E-Books

Countering al Qaeda by Brian M. Jenkins
Call Number: Available in NetLibrary
Dictionary of Terrorism by Richard Thackrah
Call Number: Available in NetLibrary
Repression, Resistance and Women in Afghanistan by Hafizullah Emadi
Call Number: Available in NetLibrary
Ethnic Groups Worldwide: a Ready Reference Handbook by David Levinson
Call Number: Available in NetLibrary

Best databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers as well as video clips, podcasts, and broadcast transcripts, many in full-text. A very useful database for just about any topic.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reporting on current controversial issues, with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper and broadcast coverage from all over the world. Also covers law, business, biographies, Congress and the Supreme Court.
Omnifile Full Text This link opens in a new window
Article citations, abstracts, and many full-text articles from thousands of magazines, newspapers and scholarly sources. A good choice for most subjects.

News

WorldCat

Search WorldCat to find books in other libraries. For more information on requesting books and articles, go to the Interlibrary Loan tab of this guide (for on-campus and local area students) or Distance Services for virtual students.

Military History:Afghanistan