Research Guides: Biology: Where do I find biology resources in the library?

Where can I find resources related to my major in the Biological Sciences?

This page will help connect you to biology related resources available through Forsyth Library.

Search the catalog using the search box or click on the tabs below to see the different types of resources available. Hover your mouse over the for a description of the resource.

Get started with a quick search of the catalog and multiple databases.

Search for magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles.

Search Digital Archives to find digitized photos, FHSU theses, yearbooks, and more.

Search Books & More to find books & e-books, print & e-journals, DVDs, CDs, government documents, & more.

Where can I find relevant resources?

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Useful for nearly any research topic.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window BioMed Central's portfolio of 206 journals includes general titles BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals (e.g. BMC Bioinformatics, Malaria Journal) that focus on particular disciplines. All the research published by BioMed Central's journals is open access, but BioMed Central also provides access to various additional products and services that require a subscription.
BioOne This link opens in a new window Citations/abstracts and some full-text articles from high-impact, peer-reviewed bioscience journals and bulletins in plant science, animal science, entomology, wildlife management, biology, chemistry and more, published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences and closely related organizations.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window Fuente Académica ofrece más de 450 revistas académicas de América Latina, Portugal y España. Todas las materias principales se tratan con especial énfasis en la agricultura, las ciencias biológicas, la economía, la historia, el derecho, la literatura, la filosofía, la psicología, la administración pública, la religión y la sociología.
"Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology."
Gardening and Horticulture Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to magazines focused on the practical aspects and scientific theory of horticulture studies. This database offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their subjects.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window Full-text subset of PubMed. PMC contains more than 6 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present). Content is added to the archive through journal and publisher program deposit, author manuscript deposit, and digitization projects.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database with many full-text, scholarly articles back to 1999, and citations/abstracts prior to 1999.
Science This link opens in a new window Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more. Contains millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

Anatomy and Physiology Journals Browse all anatomy and physiology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Biology Journals Browse all general biology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Botany Journals Browse all botany journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Cellular Biology Journals Browse all cellular biology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Conservation Biology Journals Browse all conservation biology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Ecology Journals Browse all ecology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Embryology Journals Browse all embryology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Entomology Journals Browse all entomology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Evolution Journals Browse all evolution journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Fisheries Management Journals Browse all fisheries management journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Genetics Journals Browse all genetics journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Herpetology Journals Browse all herpetology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Ichthyology Journals Browse all ichthyology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Immunology Journals Browse all immunology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Mammalogy Journals Browse all mammalogy journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Microbiology Journals Browse all microbiology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Ornithology Journals Browse all ornithology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Parasitology Journals Browse all parasitology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Range Management Journals Browse all range management journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Virology Journals Browse all virology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Zoology Journals Browse all zoology journals available electronically through Forsyth Library.

Anatomy and Physiology Books Browse all anatomy and physiology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Botany Books Browse all botany books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Cellular Biology Books Browse all cellular books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Conservation Biology Books Browse all conservation biology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Ecology Books Browse all ecology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Embryology Books Browse all embryology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Entomology Books Browse all entomology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Evolution Books Browse all evolution books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Fisheries Management Books Browse all fisheries management books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Biology Books Browse all general biology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Genetics Books Browse all genetics books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Herpetology Books Browse all herpetology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Ichthyology Books Browse all ichthyology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Immunology Books Browse all immunology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Mammalogy Books Browse all mammalogy books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Microbiology Journals Browse all microbiology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Ornithology Books Browse all ornithology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Parasitology Journals Browse all parasitology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Range Management Books Browse all range management books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Virology Books Browse all virology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.
Zoology Journals Browse all zoology books available electronically through Forsyth Library.

FHSU Biology Master's Theses The FHSU Biology Department Master's Theses are available online in the FHSU Scholars Repository. Some theses may be limited to on-campus access only due to copyright restrictions.
Jerry R. Choate Papers The Dr. Jerry R. Choate Papers are housed in three file cabinets and date from 1965 to 2009. These files are arranged into eleven series with one series restricted: Series II: Student Files. The papers are comprised mainly of correspondence, course materials, research materials, and Sternberg Museum construction information.
JSTOR Biological Sciences Collection The Biological Sciences Collection from JSTOR contains a variety natural sciences resources.

General Life Sciences Data

Dryad Repository of research data underlying scientific and medical publications, predominantly from peer-reviewed journal articles.
Figshare General repository for research outputs, including data sets, media, papers, posters and groups of files.
NIH Data Sharing Repositories List of NIH-supported data repositories and resources that aggregate information about biomedical data. Each entry has a brief description of the repository and links to data submission and access policies.
re3data.org Global registry of research data repositories.

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Data

Avian Knowledge Network (AKN) Partnership of people, institutions and government agencies that supports the conservation of birds and their habitats by improving access to and use of data and tools. Data available on bird-monitoring, banding and citizen-based bird-surveillance.
Catalog of Life Single integrated species checklist and taxonomic hierarchy. The Catalogue holds essential information on the names, relationships and distributions of over 1.6 million species.
Data Basin Provides free access to biological, physical and socioeconomic geospatial data and maps, along with tools to create custom visualizations, drawings and analyses.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) GBIF facilitates free and open access to biodiversity data, enabling anyone to discover, use or publish data about all types of life on Earth.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi and microbes of North America and the world. Full database or specific taxonomic group data available for download.
Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB) International repository for ecological and environmental data. Data originate from field stations, laboratories, research sites and individual researchers around the world.
NCBI Taxonomy National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) database of names and classification for all organisms represented in NCBI sequence databases.

Molecular Biology, Cell Biology & Biochemistry Data

European Bioinformatics Institute Part of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), the EBI provides a wide range of databases, software tools, and resources.
ExPASy ExPASY, the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics Resource Portal, provides access to databases and software tools in different areas of the life sciences, including proteomics, genomics and phylogeny.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) NCBI provides public access to biomedical and genomic information through its multiple databases and tools.
UniProt Universal Protein Resource (UniProt), a collaboration between the European Bioinformatics Institute, the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics and Protein Information Resource, provides high-quality, freely accessible protein sequence and functional information.
Nucleic Acid Knowledgebase (NAKB) NAKB provides search, report, statistics, atlas and visualization pages for all nucleic-acid containing experimentally determined 3D structures held by NDB and by the Protein Data Bank (PDB), including all major methods: X-ray, NMR, and Electron Microscopy. For each structure, links are provided to external resources that annotate and analyze nucleic acid structures and their complexes.
RCSB Protein Data Bank Worldwide repository for information about 3D structures of biological macromolecules. Provides tools for structure visualization.

Plant Data

Grameme Comparative grass genomics (rice, maize, sorghum, barley, oats, wheat, rye)
Plant Metabolic Network (PMN) Provides a broad network of plant metabolic pathway databases that contain curated information from the literature and computational analyses about the genes, enzymes, compounds, reactions, and pathways involved in primary and secondary metabolism in plants.

All About Birds All About Birds is a free resource created by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and made possible by our more than 100,000 members, donors, and supporters. Here you’ll find detailed information on more than 600 North American bird species, tips on how to attract and enjoy birds, an extensive section on FAQs and answers to common problems, as well as news and feature stories from our award-winning Living Bird magazine. You can also use our search box to find pages from any other Cornell Lab websites including eBird, Project FeederWatch, NestWatch, Macaulay Library, and others.
Applied Math and Science Education Repository (AMSER) AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.
Arbor Day Foundation Tree Guide This is the home page of the Arbor Day Foundation's tree identification utility.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.
BioEd Online Welcome to BioEd Online, the online educational resource for educators, students, and parents. BioEd Online utilizes state-of-the-art technology to give you instant access to reliable, cutting-edge information and educational tools for biology and related subjects. Our goal is to provide useful, accurate, and current information and materials that build upon and enhance the skills and knowledge of science educators. Developed under the guidance of our expert Editorial Board, BioEd Online offers the following high-quality resources.
Center for Biological Diversity Research Papers Recent research highlighted by the Center for Biological Diversity.
Center for North American Herpetology (CNAH) About CNAH In the spring of 1994, The Center for North American Amphibians and Reptiles (CNAAR) (By-Laws) was established as a non-profit foundation incorporated in the state of Kansas by Joseph T. Collins, Herpetologist Emeritus, Natural History Museum, The University of Kansas, and Suzanne L. Collins, professional wildlife photographer, with the objective of promoting scientific research on amphibians, turtles, reptiles, and crocodilians in the United States and Canada. In 2000, the CNAAR Board of Directors voted to change the name of the foundation to The Center for North American Herpetology (CNAH), to free themselves from the ever-changing taxonomic categories and definitions. CNAH continues to operate as a non-profit foundation. CNAH is home of the journal Contemporary Herpetology.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) We work with open access biodiversity knowledge providers around the world, including museums and libraries, universities and research centers, individual scientists, graduate students and citizen science communities, and a suite of international open data hubs. Everyone has a job to do. Scientists and other observers generate data, photos, videos and descriptive text. Bioinformaticists and technicians, professional and volunteer, digitize and organize this information. Publishers and data sharing platforms support sharing of the information through explicit licenses and data services. Integrators, like EOL, receive information from many sources, and format and annotate it so that search tools can find similar content from different sources. If you've published a biodiversity dataset or a wildlife photo online that is licensed for sharing, you are one of us.
FishBase FishBase is a global biodiversity information system on finfishes. Its initial goal to provide key facts on population dynamics for 200 major commercial species has now grown to having a wide range of information on all species currently known in the world: taxonomy, biology, trophic ecology, life history, and uses, as well as historical data reaching back to 250 years.
Human Genome Resources at NCBI This is the home portal for human genome resources at the National Center for Biotechnology Information. This resource is a searchable database of human genetic information.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) Welcome to ITIS, the Integrated Taxonomic Information System! Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership is proud to provide the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings. The NSDL collection contains structured descriptive information (metadata) about web-based educational resources held on other sites by their providers. These providers have contribute this metadata to NSDL for organized search and open access to educational resources via this website and its services. Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).
PLANTS Database The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. This information primarily promotes land conservation in the United States and its territories, but academic, educational, and general use is encouraged. PLANTS reduces government spending by minimizing duplication and making information exchange possible across agencies and disciplines. This is a service of the USDA.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service The home page for the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (FWS).

Can't I just Google it?

This video will help you understand why you should be searching for scholarly sources at Forsyth Library instead of out in the wild.

What is a database anyway?

This video will help you understand what a library database is and how it is different than a search engine you find on the internet.